BMW 2006 X5 ran out of gas 1/4 tank on gauge - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X5 E53 (1999 - 2006)

X5 E53 (1999 - 2006)
The X5 SAV Forum

Old 11-12-2016, 09:34 AM

Mein Auto: 2006 BMW X5 3.0i
BMW 2006 X5 ran out of gas 1/4 tank on gauge

2006 X5 3.0i ran out of gas at 1/4 tank on fuel gauge
Hi- newbie here so I apologize if I dont explain this proper but after reading for hours on this forum I wanted to post myself and get some insight.

I have a BMW X5 3.01 2006. 98k Miles 3 weeks ago I was experiencing a strong gas odor so I toke the car to a indy mechanic. They noticed a crack on one of the "nipples" on the tank and sealed it instead of changing out for a new gas take which would have taken 3 weeks to get from BMW and cost a boat load. They had to remove the gas tank to do this which cost $800 in labor and 10$ in parts ( sealant). All was fine until yesterday when my car ran out of gas while still showing 1/8-1/4 full on gauge and 100 miles let on tank. The car would turn over and sputter out. this morning I added 2 gallons of gas to the car and after about 5 minutes of trying to get it to start it started but ran very poorly and sluggish almost dying out at stop lights on the way to the same mechanic which is 2 miles away. When I got there and stopped,the car started to idle fine. I turned the car off and on a few times and no issues. needless to say the shop couldn't reproduce my issue. They advised me to fill up the gas tank and so how it goes. I took it to the gas station and it took 24.77 gallons to fill up. That with the 1.9 gallons I put in in the morning fits right in line with the gas tank capacity of 24.6 G + reserve of 2.1 I put in 1.9 g+ 24.77 = 26.67 tank 24.6+2.1+26.7 so obviously I HAD run out of gas the night prior.