Fxx-/Ixx-/Gxx-series Coding: Getting Started Guides, Tips, & Cheat Sheets - Page 3 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 11-22-2017, 12:16 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo.ab View Post
Dear Almaretto, have found that your cheat sheet which is included in setup of the last launcher, is bigger size then the latest one as per link in this chat. Can you advise why?
are you comparing included to github posted or something else. Please clarify and I will provide a clear response.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #52  
Old 11-22-2017, 10:46 PM
apollo.ab apollo.ab is offline
Registered User
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 11
Mein Auto: F15 X5 25 DX
Yes difference in size between sheet in github repository and sheet which is icluded in launcher. I have remove empty lines in first one by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-22-2017, 11:52 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo.ab View Post
Yes difference in size between sheet in github repository and sheet which is icluded in launcher. I have remove empty lines in first one by the way.
Launcher version was first release. Latest is found on Github.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #54  
Old 11-23-2017, 04:18 PM
ken05 ken05 is offline
ken05
Location: Queensland
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 106
Mein Auto: X3 F25 LCI
How do I get the .xml from github , do i need to copy and past into a text file?
__________________
2015 X3 LCI 30D M Sport
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-23-2017, 05:44 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken05 View Post
How do I get the .xml from github , do i need to copy and past into a text file?
Copy and paste. Save as Author.xml
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-03-2017, 10:07 PM
ken05 ken05 is offline
ken05
Location: Queensland
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 106
Mein Auto: X3 F25 LCI
thanks
__________________
2015 X3 LCI 30D M Sport
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-04-2017, 02:14 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken05 View Post
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-05-2017, 03:33 PM
nabeelio nabeelio is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 99
Mein Auto: 530i
Couldn't find an answer to this - does taking the car in for service/getting the software updated, does that wipe the coded changes? Also I wonder what the macro-programmability is. I'm a software developer and having to re-do all those changes, etc sounds like a pain in the ass. I'd love to just write a script to do them all, haha
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:04 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabeelio View Post
Couldn't find an answer to this - does taking the car in for service/getting the software updated, does that wipe the coded changes? Also I wonder what the macro-programmability is. I'm a software developer and having to re-do all those changes, etc sounds like a pain in the ass. I'd love to just write a script to do them all, haha
Any ECU that is updated will be coded to factory values.

Did you watch video on Launcher Cheat Codes?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:09 PM
nabeelio nabeelio is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 99
Mein Auto: 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Any ECU that is updated will be coded to factory values.

Did you watch video on Launcher Cheat Codes?
I haven't been able to yet, but I was just looking at some of the xml files, looks pretty neat. Haven't gotten my car yet so just trying to learn as much as I can. I don't have a Windows laptop, so will probably have to resort to bimmercode, which I guess is where my macro thoughts came from.

Last edited by nabeelio; 12-05-2017 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:36 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabeelio View Post
I haven't been able to yet, but I was just looking at some of the xml files, looks pretty neat. Haven't gotten my car yet so just trying to learn as much as I can. I don't have a Windows laptop, so will probably have to resort to bimmercode, which I guess is where my macro thoughts came from.
You can use Windows Virtualization if you have Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:38 PM
nabeelio nabeelio is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Austin
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 99
Mein Auto: 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You can use Windows Virtualization if you have Mac.
Yep, I'll have to get that working!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 12-05-2017, 11:01 PM
AbouMostafa55 AbouMostafa55 is offline
Registered User
Location: Dallas
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 6
Mein Auto: 320i
Hello All
I just purchased an ENET cable and will install the E-Sys.rar and launcher premium 2.x as well as v63.1_psdzdata_lite. Will those be enough for me to get help with having some coding like close windows at exit, trunk release and close...etc? Update Nabil software. Can I get xm code retrofitted? Can you or someone else help me with that? Is that volunteer/$ if $ how much?

Feel like a kid in a candy store here lol
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 12-05-2017, 11:27 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 35,694
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbouMostafa55 View Post
Hello All
I just purchased an ENET cable and will install the E-Sys.rar and launcher premium 2.x as well as v63.1_psdzdata_lite. Will those be enough for me to get help with having some coding like close windows at exit, trunk release and close...etc? Update Nabil software. Can I get xm code retrofitted? Can you or someone else help me with that? Is that volunteer/$ if $ how much?

Feel like a kid in a candy store here lol
I answered your same PM's regarding Coding, Nav Update, and Sat Radio retrofit, as well as you same exact post here:

https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&postcount=791
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 12-05-2017, 11:44 PM
AbouMostafa55 AbouMostafa55 is offline
Registered User
Location: Dallas
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 6
Mein Auto: 320i
Yes you did and I absolutely thank you for that. I just found on one of the coding threads that I can create my own FsC codes using a generator http://cartechnology.co.uk/showthread.php?tid=29966 and that the latest NA update is online and shared a link so am trying to understand if indeed I can do it myself. As I mentioned to you it is part of my learning curve. If I cannot then definitely I will go with Gerry. Hope you understand where I am coming from. ac
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbouMostafa55 View Post
Hello All
I just purchased an ENET cable and will install the E-Sys.rar and launcher premium 2.x as well as v63.1_psdzdata_lite. Will those be enough for me to get help with having some coding like close windows at exit, trunk release and close...etc? Update Nabil software. Can I get xm code retrofitted? Can you or someone else help me with that? Is that volunteer/$ if $ how much?

Feel like a kid in a candy store here lol
I answered your same PM's regarding Coding, Nav Update, and Sat Radio retrofit, as well as you same exact post here:

https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...&postcount=791
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 12-09-2017, 06:48 PM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Help Please!!!
I must have done something wrong, I did FA coding for the Bluetooth audio and the sport+ ... it's working but when I did the right click on ECUs, then 'Code', I did it on the root one and now I have a Propulsion Group error that I can't get rid of... I tried the 'clear all DTCs' from E-SYS External Applications but the error is still there. The car is working fine, no loss of power. How can I get rid of the error? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 12-09-2017, 06:54 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonG75 View Post
Help Please!!!
I must have done something wrong, I did FA coding for the Bluetooth audio and the sport+ ... it's working but when I did the right click on ECUs, then 'Code', I did it on the root one and now I have a Propulsion Group error that I can't get rid of... I tried the 'clear all DTCs' from E-SYS External Applications but the error is still there. The car is working fine, no loss of power. How can I get rid of the error? Thanks!
What do you mean the "root one?"
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 12-09-2017, 06:56 PM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
What do you mean the "root one?"
The one named "ECUs" on the far left side at the top
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 12-09-2017, 06:59 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonG75 View Post
The one named "ECUs" on the far left side at the top
You mean SVT (Top of tree)? You VO coded entire vehicle, including DME? Did you get any ECU errors? Was engine running? Did it complete?

You are going to want to scan vehicle (complete test) with ISTA+.

Last edited by Almaretto; 12-09-2017 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 12-09-2017, 07:05 PM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You mean SVT (Top of tree)? You VO coded entire vehicle, including DME? Did you get any ECU errors? Was engine running? Did it complete?
Yes, I misunderstoud the instruction and did code the entire vehicule... not sure for the errors, the log was pretty long but everything seemed green... the engine was running... it did complete!
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 12-09-2017, 07:11 PM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You mean SVT (Top of tree)? You VO coded entire vehicle, including DME? Did you get any ECU errors? Was engine running? Did it complete?

You are going to want to scan vehicle (complete test) with ISTA+.
Where do I find that ISTA+ Software ?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 12-09-2017, 07:51 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonG75 View Post
Yes, I misunderstoud the instruction and did code the entire vehicule... not sure for the errors, the log was pretty long but everything seemed green... the engine was running... it did complete!
Re-Read vehicle and make sure you do not have any missing or corrupt CAFD's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonG75 View Post
Where do I find that ISTA+ Software ?
STICKY
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 12-09-2017, 08:05 PM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Re-Read vehicle and make sure you do not have any missing or corrupt CAFD's.



STICKY
Thanks, I'll check that tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 12-09-2017, 09:25 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,925
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonG75 View Post
Thanks, I'll check that tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 12-10-2017, 10:07 AM
SimonG75 SimonG75 is offline
Registered User
Location: Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
Mein Auto: 328i xDrive 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Trying the ISTA+ but I'm stuck at 'Read out vehicule data', after clicking on 'Complete Identification', the connection manager is empty? I followed all the installation step from the guide ???
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.