Idle / jerking problems (long history) - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010)

E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010)
BMW 5-Series E60 Sedan was first seen in the Unites States in the fall of 2003 with a 2004 Model Year designation. The E61 wagon followed shortly there after. The E60/E61 5 series is now available as a 528i, 528xi, 535i, 535xi, 550i and a 535xi sports wagon! -- View the E60 Wiki

Old 01-31-2020, 06:19 PM

Mein Auto: 2008 535i
Idle / jerking problems (long history)

I'm Jake, this is my first post. I'm a so-so car mechanic but I maintain all my own cars. I purchased my first BMW two years ago (2008 535i), and I've got a problem that may be recent or may have been evident since I bought the car, not sure. Here's the details:

The real problem started a few weeks ago, we've had a few cold snaps here in the Central Valley. I went to start my car and it struggled to start (turned over a few times, finally ignited). Idle was rough, but once I let it sit and went down the road it corrected. The last maintenance I did was changing the spark plugs and coils. At the time I changed plugs / coils, the car would start smooth, but once it did it's little 30 second BIT check, the idle went rough. The idle smoothed out after the car was warm. When I changed the plugs / wires, Cyl #1 was wet with fuel. Cyl 1 comes into play recently as well, as I got impatient and pressed the gas pedal while the engine was idling rough during its BIT and got a CES P0301 and P03201 (Multiple Cyll misfire / #1 Cyl misfire).

Some folks on this forum on other threads suggested reading the fuel trim live data, so I did. All readings are within 0% +/- 5% EXCEPT LONGFT2, which at idle cold reads -11%, at idle warm reads -5.5% and all other RPMs for all other readings are 0% +/- 5%. I read on this forum that more than 5% indicates something is off, but I've heard from others that more than 10% is when I should worry.