F020 (F02x, F03x, F08x) F30 cruise control retrofit coding problem - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2019, 06:19 AM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
F30 cruise control retrofit coding problem

Hi,

My friend have a 2013 320i with plain steering wheel (no cruise control, LIM or audio controls at all)
I bought a multifunction steering wheel (32306854753) with cruise controls, installed and coded:

VO 249, 540
but i get this message:

No FP could be generated from FA "". [C002]
Not all elements of FA were found in the FA2FP: SALAPA 540 [72]


So I tried VO 544 instead of 540 and restarted the car.

Now all the buttons working but once I hit the road and press the master cruise switch or the + - button I get a message on the dash " Cruise Control Failure " and once the car restarted it goes off.

So I removed the SALAPA 544 and coded the car again, the SET button acts now as a LIM button and the limiter works.

E-Sys version : 3.27.1
PSdZData version : 4.15.23

I need your help I want the cruise control to wok.

My friend went back to his town and will be back in a few days
What shall I do next ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	900x600-1_-23f3K3edH3EpwA.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	840397   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_122516__012.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	840399   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_144212__01.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	336.3 KB
ID:	840401   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190218_144309__01.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	323.5 KB
ID:	840403   Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	163.5 KB
ID:	840407  


Last edited by waleedmango; 02-18-2019 at 06:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-2019, 10:22 AM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
I bought a used instrument cluster that support $544A and will try to coded and deal with the tampering LED later
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2019, 03:12 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,055
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

You have to delete old VIN in kombi first otherwise you will not be able to inject CAFD and code it (you will get an WDBI_CPS error).

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW F30 330e Hybrid 2016 in tansanit blue, cohibabrown for every day (09/2019 G20 330e in tanasnit 2 blue, all in )
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
BMW M4 F83 Cabrio competition in black for the wife
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-2019, 03:36 AM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Thanks milkyway for your input

I will do all the necessary eeprom work before installing the cluster
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2019, 03:53 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Dear Milkyway,

I used to R270+ programmer to read the eeprom and this is what I got.
Please help me indicate which values I need to FF to clear the old vin

is it the one in row 580 and 650 ?

the chip is 35160WT

I will also incluse the full BIN file

I need to FF the VIN only because the mileage is lower than my original KOMBI

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	172.5 KB
ID:	843883   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	193.8 KB
ID:	843885  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 160D-35160-0315(45)EEP.BIN.pdf (2.0 KB, 48 views)

Last edited by waleedmango; 03-14-2019 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2019, 03:27 AM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Do I have to FF the whole row of 580 and 680 ?
Or only these values :
35 41 30 39 36 30 34

What's the next step in E-SYS ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2019, 08:14 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,055
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

File with edeleted VIN (2 x short, 1x long) is attached. Mileage is the old one!

CU Oliver
Attached Files
File Type: pdf EEPROM_20190317-161716.bin.pdf (2.0 KB, 45 views)
__________________
BMW F30 330e Hybrid 2016 in tansanit blue, cohibabrown for every day (09/2019 G20 330e in tanasnit 2 blue, all in )
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
BMW M4 F83 Cabrio competition in black for the wife

Last edited by milkyway; 03-17-2019 at 08:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2019, 02:30 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Thank you Milkyway

I have flashed your file to the eeprom successfully

I will post once installed and coded with E-sys

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2019, 10:39 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Hi,

I'm planning to install and code the cluster this week.

Can somebody tell me please if I need to inject CAFD or just add $544A cruise control and FA code the whole car.

What should I do in E-Sys

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2019, 05:33 PM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,942
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Injection is for missing or corrupt CAFD. Do you have either?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-26-2019, 08:26 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
No

Last edited by waleedmango; 03-26-2019 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2019, 08:29 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Injection is for missing or corrupt CAFD. Do you have either?
Nope, but I read everywhere for retrofitting a different cluster they do CAFD injection.

The car didn't come originally with cruise control switches and cluster.

I'm installing a Virginized used cluster, Do I just need to install it and do VO code for KOMBI, is that it ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-27-2019, 07:33 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
I installed the cluster today and added VO 544 for cruise control but I got error on BKOMBI coding.

I tried many times until I clicked on (Detect CAF for SWE) and didn't find the same i-level so I choose a random one with newer date then the BKOMBI coded successfully
After that it's showing red and blue mark on the BKOMBI folder

The cluster works fine except for the red dot ( my cluster mileage is lower than the actual mileage, the VIN is erased from eeprom)

Anyway the cruise control lights is working but when I hit the road and try to set the speed I get error " cruise control can't be activated "

I'm stuck now . I NEED YOUR HELP

Last edited by waleedmango; 03-27-2019 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-28-2019, 03:36 AM
weebyx weebyx is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 199
Mein Auto: BMW 320d F30 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by waleedmango View Post
I installed the cluster today and added VO 544 for cruise control but I got error on BKOMBI coding.

I tried many times until I clicked on (Detect CAF for SWE) and didn't find the same i-level so I choose a random one with newer date then the BKOMBI coded successfully
After that it's showing red and blue mark on the BKOMBI folder

The cluster works fine except for the red dot ( my cluster mileage is lower than the actual mileage, the VIN is erased from eeprom)

Anyway the cruise control lights is working but when I hit the road and try to set the speed I get error " cruise control can't be activated "

I'm stuck now . I NEED YOUR HELP
I installed a brand new 6WB and got the red dot after coding. Cleared all errors with ISTA and coded again, red dot was gone.

Regarding cruise control, maybe your FEM has to old SW for the kombi. There are other posts where they say after installing a new kombi, cruise does not work anymore because FEM is to old.

Just some points to look into, I have not experience with CC retrofit myself.

/Weebyx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-28-2019, 04:40 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Here is the error codes I get

Do I need to flash FEM_GW, do I need to flash all ECUs because this ECU will be newer I-step than the others ?

Can I downgrade the BKOMBI to match the rest of the car's ECUs ?
The car is 2013
The BKOMBI is from 2014 car

I found a guide in how to flash it but i'm afraid If i flash it then it won't communicate with other ECUs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190328_024240.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	275.2 KB
ID:	845755   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190328_034055.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	241.3 KB
ID:	845757  

Last edited by waleedmango; 03-28-2019 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-29-2019, 02:30 AM
weebyx weebyx is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 199
Mein Auto: BMW 320d F30 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by waleedmango View Post
Here is the error codes I get

Do I need to flash FEM_GW, do I need to flash all ECUs because this ECU will be newer I-step than the others ?

Can I downgrade the BKOMBI to match the rest of the car's ECUs ?
The car is 2013
The BKOMBI is from 2014 car

I found a guide in how to flash it but i'm afraid If i flash it then it won't communicate with other ECUs
I dont know if you can downgrade, it should be possible to manually change TAL, but that is not something I have any experience with.

Flashing is always tricky if not done right. I would say the correct way, is to update the cars I-Step, and in that case also update KOMBI to that I-Step. That way the ECU's are on same level and everything should work. Is BKOMBI correct HW/Partnumber for your car, just newer ?

But, be aware that full flash requires power supply and a lot of knowledge so you dont destroy stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-29-2019, 04:00 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Thank you very much,

BKOMBI is one of the alternative part numbers that fit the car, it's a used unit removed from 4 series car

I'm waiting for the full PSdZdata to download then I will give it a try
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-31-2019, 05:50 AM
milkyway's Avatar
milkyway milkyway is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: OWL, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,055
Mein Auto: F10 M5
Hello!

As posted in PN you have to update your FEM_GW so it's also on a newer i-level. If Kombi and Gateway has a difference in i-level from 3 years or more the cruise control will not work. They speak both the langauge but not the same accent.

CU Oliver
__________________
BMW F30 330e Hybrid 2016 in tansanit blue, cohibabrown for every day (09/2019 G20 330e in tanasnit 2 blue, all in )
Jaguar XK8 Cabrio, 2006, black, 20" for the summer time
BMW M4 F83 Cabrio competition in black for the wife
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-31-2019, 06:17 AM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkyway View Post
Hello!

As posted in PN you have to update your FEM_GW so it's also on a newer i-level. If Kombi and Gateway has a difference in i-level from 3 years or more the cruise control will not work. They speak both the langauge but not the same accent.

CU Oliver
What about the Dependencies of FEM_GW ? Do I have to update them after FEM_GW ?

Is it possible to set the KOMBI on a lower i-level eg. 2015- (less than 3 years gap) to avoid the hassle of updating FEM_GW

Last edited by waleedmango; 03-31-2019 at 06:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-30-2019, 11:44 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Thanks milkyway

I flashed FEM_GW to the latest i-step and I got the cruise control working finally

I'm really thankful for your help and support
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-30-2019, 11:45 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
Thanks milkyway

I flashed FEM_GW to the latest i-step and I got the cruise control working finally

I'm really thankful for your help and support
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-18-2019, 11:32 AM
t0mip0 t0mip0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mein Auto:
Hello there i have a 316d with plain steering wheel (no cruise control, LIM or audio controls at all)

VO 249, 544
but i get this message:

No FP could be generated from FA "". [C002]
Not all elements of FA were found in the FA2FP: SALAPA 540 [72]

So I tried VO 544 instead of 540 and restarted the car.

Now all the buttons working but once I hit the road and press the master cruise switch or the + - button I get a message on the dash " Cruise Control Failure " and once the car restarted it goes off.

So I removed the SALAPA 544 and coded the car again, the SET button acts now as a LIM button and the limiter works.
I need your help I want the cruise control to work.

DO I REALLY NEED TO CHANGE THE KOMBI ?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-18-2019, 12:00 PM
waleedmango waleedmango is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 27
Mein Auto:
That's exactly what happened with me, you need to change the cluster (KOMBI)

Buy a new one or a used one (PITA to erase the old VIN)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-26-2019, 09:30 AM
t0mip0 t0mip0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Mein Auto:
ok i desided to just have normal buttons on the left side of the steering wheel just LIM nothing alse. But know even the lim funkcion doenst work what did i do wrong.

LP

Last edited by t0mip0; 06-26-2019 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fxx-/Ixx-/Gxx-series Coding: Getting Started Guides, Tips, & Cheat Sheets Almaretto BMW Coding and Programming 395 06-29-2019 03:40 AM
BMW 545i hick-ups at cruise control floridiaan75 E60 / E61 (2004 - 2010) 5 01-08-2019 10:06 AM
F020 (F02x, F03x, F08x) Problems with coding Cruise Control zzzZZZzzz BMW Coding and Programming 1 09-02-2018 09:41 PM
2018 X5 Adaptie Cruise Control Milam X5 F15 (2014 - Current) 2 07-02-2018 03:22 PM
This Is The Official Hijack Thread... Sabrina Off-Topic 146 05-21-2009 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.