Fernstart / remote start coding - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion of BMW's 4th generation E65/E66 7 Series flagship. The E65 generated much controversy, due to its radical styling and iDrive user difficulties. Nonetheless, the E65 broke records to become the best-selling 7-series iteration ever, especially after its 2005 facelift.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2019, 09:29 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Fernstart / remote start coding

I have done what's told and installed a wire between pin 7 of the antella amplifier (key reciever) and pin 20 in cas. Added $539 to FA.

But I find it very unclear which modules needs to be coded with what for the remote engine start to work. I'd prefer to not FA code the whole car as I have many costume coding options enabled which would mean I would have to do that all over again.

So can someone who has this option enabled post a copy of their module files that needs to be altered? so I can see what options I need to enable and in what modules.

Thank you.



Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-28-2019, 09:37 AM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
I have done what's told and installed a wire between pin 7 of the antella amplifier (key reciever) and pin 20 in cas. Added $539 to FA.

But I find it very unclear which modules needs to be coded with what for the remote engine start to work. I'd prefer to not FA code the whole car as I have many costume coding options enabled which would mean I would have to do that all over again.

So can someone who has this option enabled post a copy of their module files that needs to be altered? so I can see what options I need to enable and in what modules.

Thank you.



Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Use NCS Dummy and search keywords
Most probably CAS shiukd be coded to enable the reolmote start. If I am not mistaken the receiver cannot be coded.

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2019, 09:42 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cimdahers View Post
Use NCS Dummy and search keywords
Most probably CAS shiukd be coded to enable the reolmote start. If I am not mistaken the receiver cannot be coded.

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
I have found keywords for that in CAS, DWAI and HKIA as of now only the obvious that says just remote start. But I suspect there's some other ones that has to be changed as well like maybe standklima?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-2019, 09:57 AM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
I have found keywords for that in CAS, DWAI and HKIA as of now only the obvious that says just remote start. But I suspect there's some other ones that has to be changed as well like maybe standklima?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Well, if I understand that option starts the engine. That's for CAS. One has to think, are there any other modules for the car to start. Maybe not?

Search also for option codes as well, and german names of the option.

DWAI is alarm systema and IHKA for condition systems. Seems that thise are quite related.

That would be my attitude to that retrofit. I basically refer to that russian site write-up which I shared once through.another thread. There were basics using NSC Dummy, where it was described as a 'magic' function to deal with such retrofit-issues when one doesn't know what to code. The keyword search option was the culprit mentioned there, being very useful to find modules related to a retrofit option or keyword.

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2019, 09:59 AM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
... and sorry, I hadn't tested the USB output yet. I ****ed up a little with my night vision the other day, and then I catched cold. So I was not in the mood.

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2019, 10:53 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
According to E65AT.K00
option 539 = Standklima // standklimatisierung zu 03/03
And option 194 = Fernstart // Motorfernstart

Yeah I understand, I'm not in any hurry.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2019, 10:56 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
and those option codes were found in these modules:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fernstart order option.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	175.2 KB
ID:	865989
Click image for larger version

Name:	standklima order option.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	244.1 KB
ID:	865991
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2019, 11:47 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
So then I just have to figure out what the different options should be set to.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2019, 11:49 AM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
So i think $194 should be added to the FA as well as $539?

Then I just have to figure out what the different options should be set to in these modules.


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:31 PM
irish745 irish745 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: ireland
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
Mein Auto: E66 760Li individual
Far easier to just add $539 standklima to ur fa order and just default code the cas,ihka,lma and dwai only .there the only modules need coding u dont need to do the whole car .there are options on the above ecu trcs for remote start and such but i found it didnt enable some of them which looked obvious .if u wanted to go the whole hog .u could add 539 to ur fa but dont write it to the car then default code each ecu then read it using ncs dummy and compare the trcs and u can see the changes then .

Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:35 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
EDITED

Thanks, but what about $194 then?
Adding that also to the FA should theoretically enable all the options that depend on that eg remote enginestart.

Or isn't that also needed to be enabled to remote start the engine?
Do those options even need to be enabled that doesn't also depend on option $539 and because of that need to be enabled.

If this is hard to understand it's because I've taken some drinks by now if that's the case please tell me and I can explain what I mean better tomorrow hehe

EDITED

I suppose I could also do a simulated car and simulate coding that and see what it change

Last edited by vibbelito; 09-28-2019 at 01:44 PM. Reason: Edited everything because Absolut Citron
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:52 PM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
EDITED

Thanks, but what about $194 then?
Adding that also to the FA should theoretically enable all the options that depend on that eg remote enginestart.

Or isn't that also needed to be enabled to remote start the engine?
Do those options even need to be enabled that doesn't also depend on option $539 and because of that need to be enabled.

If this is hard to understand it's because I've taken some drinks by now if that's the case please tell me and I can explain what I mean better tomorrow hehe

EDITED

I suppose I could also do a simulated car and simulate coding that and see what it change


Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-28-2019, 01:54 PM
irish745 irish745 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: ireland
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
Mein Auto: E66 760Li individual
Forget about 194 .only code u need to add is $539 thats it .i have done this retrofit atleast 10 times now .i have 2 of my cars done and another 2 rwmotes for my other cars once i fix their engine issues .

Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2019, 02:17 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by irish745 View Post
Forget about 194 .only code u need to add is $539 thats it .i have done this retrofit atleast 10 times now .i have 2 of my cars done and another 2 rwmotes for my other cars once i fix their engine issues .

Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk
Ah thanks, I wonder what it does though

Then I'll just have to look up how to default code modules.

I'll probably take a look at what parameters it changes anyway for future people that may find this thread.


Right now I'm pretty much driving around with half my Interior ripped out.

I can tell ya that the wind and road noise is much more present like this.



I'm also looking into if doing an "individual" permanent mounted center console is possible and what needs to be changed for that and have made some interesting finds


Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk

Last edited by vibbelito; 09-28-2019 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-28-2019, 03:09 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cimdahers View Post


Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
It's dangerous to have a fully stocked bar in your home (and soon in my car)

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-30-2019, 12:54 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
i made a virtual car in NCS expert (.ssd files) with my FA and red the diffrent modules nettodat from CBD that those options were found in. allthough i could not read the Power module for some reason so that remains unknown.

so this is what options that adding $539 to your FA should change when coding from FA (VO)
E65-CAS.C05-TraceDifferences with and without 9.txt

E65-IHKA_E65.C05-TraceDifferences with and without 9.txt

E65-LM2_E6X.C35-TraceDifferences with and without 9.txt
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-30-2019, 01:55 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
i made a virtual car in NCS expert (.ssd files) with my FA and red the diffrent modules nettodat from CBD that those options were found in. allthough i could not read the Power module for some reason so that remains unknown.

so this is what options that adding $539 to your FA should change when coding from FA (VO)
Attachment 866425

Attachment 866427

Attachment 866429
And the only thing that seems to refferens standklima in the power module seems to be what battery size you have so that's probably not entirely nessesary to code anyway. so i would say those 3 modules are the only ones really nessesary to code if you're only adding $539 standklima. acording to default coding going from the same FA as i have. so this might not hold entirely true comming from other already activated options.

so this does not include fernstart option $194.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-01-2019, 01:05 PM
irish745 irish745 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: ireland
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
Mein Auto: E66 760Li individual
I somewhat agree but on i have my doubts if its actually about linking them up through coding addresses too because for the webasto to work ot actually uses all 4 of these modules for a parameter it needs to operate .
For example .it uses the power module to determine battery voltage as if its to low it wont start
Lm module to control the indicators and interior lights to show its activated
Ihka to determine external temperature or it wont start above 18°for webasto and lower for standklima and also to vent the interior too using ihka controls .
Cas obviously for secuirty controls and all above is for standklima which is fernstart

Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:15 PM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
To my surprize CAS module in my car has already white/blue wire in pin22 and receiver as well in pin3.
It took some time to figure that out, and then put back the interior trims which I had to remove. .
I have the remote, and will code the car when electricity is back. It's windy here and the power has been disconnected for some hours already...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:40 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cimdahers View Post
To my surprize CAS module in my car has already white/blue wire in pin22 and receiver as well in pin3.
It took some time to figure that out, and then put back the interior trims which I had to remove. .
I have the remote, and will code the car when electricity is back. It's windy here and the power has been disconnected for some hours already...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Wait a second. The wire is supposed to go between pin 7 of the antenna amplifier (key reciever) and pin 20 in cas. For standklima function.

Why would you want to put it between pin 22 and 3?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:44 PM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Oh, I will look in wiring diags again...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:49 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cimdahers View Post
Oh, I will look in wiring diags again...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
I believe that this isn't visible in any of our available wiring diagrams if I'm not mistaking. Just as with my OBD+ connector or most of the individual options.

I think they had to figure it out from someone that had this option from factory to know how to wire it. Or am I wrong here?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:52 PM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
I believe that this isn't visible in any of our available wiring diagrams if I'm not mistaking. Just as with my OBD+ connector or most of the individual options.

I think they had to figure it out from someone that had this option from factory to know how to wire it. Or am I wrong here?

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
You probably are, because no PINout is showing that pin20 connection. Simply not used.
Well then I have to spend more hours next weekend, again...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:53 PM
vibbelito's Avatar
vibbelito vibbelito is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden, Luleå
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 755
Mein Auto: 2007 730i E65
I wired mine between pin 7 of the antenna amplifier and pin 20 in cas. Coded all dependencies based on my simulated coding files I posted. And then paired the remote and everything worked out great.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-27-2019, 01:55 PM
cimdahers cimdahers is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Riga
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 267
Mein Auto: BMW e65 730d
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibbelito View Post
I wired mine between pin 7 of the antenna amplifier and pin 20 in cas. Coded all dependencies based on my simulated coding files I posted. And then paired the remote and everything worked out great.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk
Oh, f*cked up. I was close, but was so relying on the wiring diagramms...

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.