DIY cost/reliability on a X5d - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > X Series > X5 E70 (2007 - 2013)

X5 E70 (2007 - 2013)
E70 BMW X5 produced between 2007 and 2013. Discuss the E70 X5 with other BMW owners here.

Old 09-13-2019, 09:28 PM

Mein Auto:
DIY cost/reliability on a X5d

Background- I donít want to get into a money pit- who does- but I am a shade tree mechanic and can turn a wrench. Iíve got a shop and 2 post lift as well.

I see numerous statements that they wouldnít own a bmw out of warranty. However, for a diy person, is the labor and cost that great? I donít want to work on it every weekend.

All that said, is there a reason to look at the 2011+ or will a 2009-2010 be a good candidate except for the aesthetics? Any other input is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2019, 10:16 PM
Resident Curmudgeon

Mein Auto: '12 X5 35d/E39M5/996TTX50
First, any car can be a money pit. It happens. Take your time, chose carefully. It will reduce the odds of a lemon

Second, being a DIY you are WAY ahead of the curve. Brakes are 2 hrs per axle and $200...versus $900-1100 at the dealer. Extrapolate that everywhere- suspension rattles; a fuel pump; a tailgate spindle.

It is my PERCEPTION that over time, BMW got better wiht their diesels (I lemoned a 2010...and have a 2012 w 130k) I'd therefore sugest a newer one, but this is a bias- not an informed position.

Add a BMW code reader to your tool list. In fact, if YOU will be doing your own PPIs, buy a foxwell 520 and pull codes/history on each car you look at.

Oh, welcome. What state if you are in the USA?

OE is Original Equipment aka 'BMW Original Parts' aka 'What you buy at the BMW dealer with a BMW label'

OEM is Original Equipment Manufacturer... EITHER the company that made the OE part or.... A part this is identical to the OE part, but is sold by the OEM under their own label

OEM is not what BMW sells