Should I buy a 2012 F30 328i? - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 3 Series & 4 Series > F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 / F34 / F36 (2012 - current)

F30 / F31 / F32 / F33 / F34 / F36 (2012 - current)
The sixth generation BMW 3 Series Sedan F30/F31/F34 and the first first generation 4 Series Coupe F32/F33/F36. Get the latest 3 and 4 series pricing from our ordering and pricing guide sticky thread.

Old 03-10-2018, 11:42 PM

Mein Auto: Toyota
Should I buy a 2012 F30 328i?

Currently a college student and looking to finance a USED bmw. It's a 2012 328i going for 12k. 67k miles. Carfax shows that spark plugs replaced, Stabilizer bar links replaced, Cabin air filter replaced, front rotators and rear breaks replaced. I can get a special warranty for the car with the dealer. I was told I can pay around 180-200 a month for 60 months for this model. Is it worth it and is it reliable and cost efficient for me as I am a college student?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-11-2018, 05:38 AM
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest

Mein Auto: 2012 X3 (F25)
A lot depends upon how much money you can readily afford for upkeep- in general Bimmers require bit more regular/preventative maintenance than say most all Asian brands.

When these carís approach the 100K mile mark the can require some suspension work: shocks, replace worn rubber control and thrust arm bushings and the like- things that will typically last longer on carís with less sophisticated suspension designs.
If youíre able/willing to do some of your own work you can save significant expense on service/repair.

If you are serious on this car pay a mechanic to perform a pre-purchase inspection.

Unless you have good reserve funds for service/repairs I think youíd be better off sticking to an Asian brand now, get the fancy German ride when you graduate and have good paying job.

Sent from my iPhone using Bimmerfest
Old 03-11-2018, 06:55 AM

Mein Auto: 2012 F30 328i