ACC retrofit-Active Cruise Control - Page 4 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)

7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Discussion of BMW's 4th generation E65/E66 7 Series flagship. The E65 generated much controversy, due to its radical styling and iDrive user difficulties. Nonetheless, the E65 broke records to become the best-selling 7-series iteration ever, especially after its 2005 facelift.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 01-19-2016, 07:32 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
What version is yours, mine is acc2_e60.c28
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #77  
Old 01-19-2016, 07:48 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
Your TRC looks good.

Have you tried running a diagnostic with DIS?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 01-19-2016, 08:48 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
Here's DIS reading the fault code:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1453222119.727771.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	546932
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #79  
Old 01-19-2016, 10:00 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
After DIS's slightly more informative diagnosis, I found this online:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1453226136.832875.jpg
Views:	295
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	546947

So it seems the ACC is working OK and receiving CAN messages from the bus, but these messages aren't what it's expecting. Which leads me to think one of the other modules which supplies it with data isn't coded appropriately.

I've been looking through this thread again and noticed something in Inspi's original post - I believe this is a screenshot of his ISTA/P program coding the vehicle. Could this be a checklist of modules which require coding?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1453226336.777348.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	546948

If so, it means the PM (power module) and CD-BO (MMI?) still need coding. Inspi, could you shed any light on this?

Might pull their TRC files later on....
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 01-19-2016, 11:02 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
None of those are connected systems and don't require coding. As it says in the screenshot you need to diagnose the other PT-can modules which are your DME, Gearbox and DSC. One of those is sending a faulty CAN message.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 01-19-2016, 04:37 PM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
As you can probably gather from my repeated posts on this thread, I'm getting pretty desperate with this now. I had already made the necessary changes to the SZL and KOMBI modules to reflect those listed earlier in the thread. Tonight I decided to default those modules from my VO. It threw up some interesting differences between the TRC files.

Below are screenshots of the TRC files for each module; on the left are the parameters I manually changed and coded, on the right is what the VO (with the $541 added) defaulted it to:

KOMBI:



SZL:



Found it a bit strange. Anyway, it still didn't work. I looked at the fault code it logged more closely. Not sure why I hadn't seen it before but sure enough, the line in the middle of the INPA fault code read:

CAN-ID: 168 (0x00A8) - Drehmoment_1 (DDE,DME)

Which pretty much confirms it as the TORQUE request from/to the DDE (as mine's a diesel).

Another factor to consider is that the workshop manual states that messages are taken from the Safety & Gateway module (SGM) and Accelerator pedal (FPM).

I think I'll just do a Process Car tomorrow and see if that works. I'll lose all my previous coding but it's nothing that cant be undone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kombi.jpg
Views:	1349
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	547013   Click image for larger version

Name:	szl.jpg
Views:	1330
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	547014  
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 01-20-2016, 12:27 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
So have you done a diagnostic on your DDE? Was there any PT-CAN faults when you did a DIS quick check?
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 01-20-2016, 12:29 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
ACC retrofit-Active Cruise Control

Happy to stick my acc on yours if you want to try that. Not sure how far I am from you.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:04 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
Thanks for the offer - I might just take you up on that!

The DDE did have a few faults related to glow plugs and the EGR's throttle valve actuator, can't imagine any of these affecting the ACC though.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:08 AM
osc osc is online now
Registered User
Location: London
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Mein Auto: e38, e65, e83
You guys are really getting into this - a bit over my head - mine just worked after coding individual modules. Only help I can suggest is if you need to know the coding on my modules, but think a code all modules should be a better way (although I've never done this). I did have a wiring issue so do double check that, but it sounds like you are way past that stage.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:20 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
ACC retrofit-Active Cruise Control

I wish it was something as simple as a wiring issue! But if I can communicate via CAN with the ACC through INPA/DIS/NCS this would suggest that physically, everything is intact.

OSC, I'd be grateful if you could post up a list of modules/parameters you changed to get yours working. Just being able to download and compare someone else's TRC files would be great. Any help appreciated at this point!

Last edited by Dan_E65; 01-20-2016 at 04:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:32 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
Got time tonight if you like. Just PM me to arrange.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 01-20-2016, 06:42 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
Process Car done.

ACC FAILURE still present, still with the same fault code. Gutted.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 01-20-2016, 06:45 AM
osc osc is online now
Registered User
Location: London
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Mein Auto: e38, e65, e83
I would take up permit's kind offer of a plug and play test. I will update you with parameters coded when i get home. Just a though, I don't think it matters but did you code VIN on ACC?
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 01-20-2016, 07:03 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
No I didn't code my VIN to the ACC module. Would I use WINKFP for that?
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 01-20-2016, 07:19 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_E65 View Post
No I didn't code my VIN to the ACC module. Would I use WINKFP for that?
You would but no-one has needed to code in the VIN so far to make this retrofit work.

Make sure you don't brick it
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:48 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
Quote:
Originally Posted by permituk View Post
You would but no-one has needed to code in the VIN so far to make this retrofit work.



Make sure you don't brick it

Sorry, head isn't screwed on right. You can just use Tool32, no need to flash the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:35 AM
osc osc is online now
Registered User
Location: London
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Mein Auto: e38, e65, e83
I couldn't get it to work with Tool32 so I flashed it with WinKPF

Last edited by osc; 01-20-2016 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 01-20-2016, 02:04 PM
osc osc is online now
Registered User
Location: London
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Mein Auto: e38, e65, e83
Here are the 2 modules I coded, as well as the settings in the ACC for e65 platform

KOMBI
ACC_AUSSTATTUNG - CRUISE CONTROL INSTALLED
acc_aktiv - Active cruise control (ACC) enabled
ACC_ALIVE_ZAEHLER - ALIVE COUNTER FOR ACTIVE CRUISE CONTROL (ACC)
aktiv - Enabled

SZL
ACC - ACTIVE CRUISE CONTROL (ACC)
aktive - Enabled
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 01-20-2016, 02:25 PM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
Sorry we didn't get it sorted tonight...

I'm thinking that by getting a different CAN error this time it's definitely a CAN issue...

So here's the CAN diagnosis document, all lifted from WDS so not taking any credit

My first step would be to measure voltages on high and low as per the document and then check the resistor connection to make sure that the wire harness has been pierced by the pins.

At least you know the ACC is fine, mine worked straight away after reinstall.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CAN Bus Diagnosis.pdf (106.0 KB, 655 views)
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:29 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
For those of you who are interested or ever decide to un-instal their ACC.

In my case I needed this in two scenarios, one I took the ACC of a car to install on mine but wanted it to keep running and when the ACC failed on mine due to a lens heating fault I wanted to disable the ACC so I could at least have Cruise Control on long drives. Both of these cases it was a no go.

As soon as you plug in an ACC on your PT-CAN, the DME will change a coding value to take this in account. This does not always automatically revert when uninstalling.

This is also not something you can undo using NCS expert.

So here's the process using Tool32.

First I identified the DME using INPA: ME9E65 6

I loaded the appropriate group file in Tool32: ME9E65_6.prg

I ran 'status_variante', then you will see all the variants in the DME listed like ACC, DSC. ARS etc... If it has a 1 value then the DME thinks it's there, if it has a 0 then it doesn't. in my case the ACC had a 1 but had been un-installed.

Then I ran 'steuern_variante', this job deletes the variants, in practice though it just updates them as when I reran 'status_variante' straight after, everything was listed correctly.

No parameters required on either job so nice and easy.

I had already done the coding in the SZL, KOMBI and VO prior to this so everything just worked as it should.

Please note that the ACC needs to be disconnected from power so that it's not registered on the PT-CAN.

Last edited by permituk; 11-24-2016 at 03:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:55 AM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
Thanks for your time last night Permituk. This morning I decided to check those voltages on the PT-CAN lines. I found that the wires just fell out of the plug housing at the ACC sensor - obviously not crimped onto the contacts properly (by me!) and this gave me a bit of hope. I recrimped all the wires onto the contacts, soldered them to make sure and then checked continuity and measured the voltages on the bus lines. All good, 2.4v on the LO and 2.6v on the HI.

I cleared all the faults and went for a drive. "ACC FAILURE". The same faults appeared as last night, referring to the DSC and K-Line.

I defaulted the modules from the VO again. "ACC FAILURE". This time, it went back to the DDE fault I arrived at yours with last night.

I might try the Tool32 procedure you outlined above to make sure my DDE has coded itself to ACC = 1.

Past this, I'm all out of ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 01-21-2016, 05:18 AM
permituk's Avatar
permituk permituk is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Cambridge, UK
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 436
Mein Auto: 2005 740i
That sucks! Perhaps follow the DIS test procedure for the CAN error as it might uncover something? Have you changed your actuator?

Btw, the job name might be different for your DDE in Tool32, let me know if you need help finding it.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 01-22-2016, 05:59 PM
rippjd rippjd is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 464
Mein Auto: 07 530xiT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_E65 View Post
I recrimped all the wires onto the contacts, soldered them to make sure and then checked continuity and measured the voltages on the bus lines. All good, 2.4v on the LO and 2.6v on the HI.
I assume you checked resistance at the two nodes? and the resistor in the grey cap physically looked ok.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACC Wiring 4.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	547429  
__________________
2007 530xiT
2010 X5 35d, 2005 745i, 2000 740i, 1999 540i, 1994 525i - all SOLD but not forgotten
E65/E66 Parts for Sale: Alpina Type 743 Front Spoiler kit (new in box) $1200
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 01-22-2016, 07:00 PM
Dan_E65 Dan_E65 is offline
Registered User
Location: Essex, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 82
Mein Auto: '06 E65 730d Sport
ACC retrofit-Active Cruise Control

Well, rippjd, funny you should say that because....

IT'S FIXED!!!!!!

I finished work today and decided to replace the throttle actuator valve that was giving a fault code. Cleared that, then checked the grey cap which houses the resistor and the PT-CAN terminal points for the ACC. It was completely waterlogged! I sprayed some WD40 in there, dried it off and put it back together. Cleared the fault codes, took it for a drive and had a stupid big grin on my face all the way home when I pulled the stalk and it all worked!!

Permituk, thanks again for your help. At least we eliminated the coding and module being at fault! And thanks to everyone else who contributed with ideas.

Last edited by Dan_E65; 01-22-2016 at 08:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 7 Series & 8 Series > 7 Series - E65 / E66 (2002 - 2008)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.