E-Series Lost power to Steptronic shifter and iDRIVE control buttons - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:32 PM
tonkaforce tonkaforce is offline
Registered User
Location: windsor, ontario
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2005 bmw 645ci
Lost power to Steptronic shifter and iDRIVE control buttons

I was playing around with NCS expert and winkftp and inpa trying to get rid of a airbag light and updating all my ecu's with a newer sp-daten. Long story short, i managed to get rid of the lights and update the majority of my ecus, there were a couple that did fail at the end with errors. When i went to take my car for a test drive the steptronic shifter was just dead. No lights on it, shifting did nothing, just dead. The idrive screen is all lit up fine but the control knob and buttons are also dead. Not sure what I did because I did a lot of stuff in that 6 hour window so i cant really trace back where it went wrong. Any suggestions on what I have to do next or what ecu i should be focusing on that controls those controls. Thanks

2010 BMW 535XI
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:34 PM
dayvg dayvg is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Gosport, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 309
Mein Auto: F10 530D MSport
Do you have a copy of ISTA+ or ISTA D. You should be able to diagnose the problem with that. Why didnít you use ISTA+ ISTA/P or e-sys to do the programming?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 530D MSport

Retrofits: KAFAS2, TV Module, Paddle Shifters, Leather Sport Shifter, Rear Cam, Top View Cams, Folding Mirrors, Side View, Extra 12v sockets! (601, 6WB, 2TB, 5DL, 430, 5DP, 5AS, in progress 316, 5AG and ACC)

Retrofits to complete: ACC, Auto trunk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:53 PM
tonkaforce tonkaforce is offline
Registered User
Location: windsor, ontario
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2005 bmw 645ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayvg View Post
Do you have a copy of ISTA+ or ISTA D. You should be able to diagnose the problem with that. Why didnít you use ISTA+ ISTA/P or e-sys to do the programming?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't, but I will download it now. Should I get both or is one better than the other?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 12:57 PM
dayvg dayvg is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Gosport, UK
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 309
Mein Auto: F10 530D MSport
I would download ISTA+


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 530D MSport

Retrofits: KAFAS2, TV Module, Paddle Shifters, Leather Sport Shifter, Rear Cam, Top View Cams, Folding Mirrors, Side View, Extra 12v sockets! (601, 6WB, 2TB, 5DL, 430, 5DP, 5AS, in progress 316, 5AG and ACC)

Retrofits to complete: ACC, Auto trunk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2019, 02:05 PM
tonkaforce tonkaforce is offline
Registered User
Location: windsor, ontario
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2005 bmw 645ci
Im having some trouble getting ista p to detect my cars connection. Is there anything i can do on winkfpt or ncs expert?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2019, 04:14 PM
tonkaforce tonkaforce is offline
Registered User
Location: windsor, ontario
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2005 bmw 645ci
just throwing an idea out there, im thinking of re flashing all the ecus with a older e60 sp daten file. any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2019, 06:48 PM
tonkaforce tonkaforce is offline
Registered User
Location: windsor, ontario
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Mein Auto: 2005 bmw 645ci
so upon reading and trial, i just tried flashing my ZBE ecu right now(which from my understanding is the idrive controller (which currently doesnt respond), it gets to 100% and i get errors 2086, signiture check fail 10flash, ng_signutre_pruefen : error_flash_signiture_check

upon some research of those errors, i can use a k dcan cable to flash these, i need to use a icom wire. can someone confirm this? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories

Tags
code, dead, flash, no power, steptronic


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.