ACC Retrofit - Page 2 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming

BMW Coding and Programming
Discuss coding options and features on your BMW here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 08-12-2013, 11:38 PM
mattyliu mattyliu is offline
Registered User
Location: Qingdao, China
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Mein Auto: 2013 F30 328i M
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrussell View Post
On F30 it is Adaptive M Chassis 2VF, also on the f30 there are 3 ICM modules, basic (none), high (5DF) & plus (2VF+5DF)


KAFAS Camera is required for ACC & LDW & HBA & requires new windscreen, KAFAS2 is used in f10 cars built after 07/12, not sure on f30

LCW requires mirrors, left & right sensors behind rear bumper & associated wiring

HUD uses special windshield to stop double images.

Hope this helps
Thank you.

Seems I am lack of too many things.

I guess if one day I get my windshield broken, I would order the special windshield for KAFAS camera and HUD, then I could move to the next step which will be involving the hardware and software.
Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #27  
Old 11-16-2013, 07:18 AM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
changing ACC?

I drive a 2008 750i (not F10 so sorry for being in the wrong forum) & have active cruise control. I do not like the ACC & am wondering if there is a way through coding to change the ACC into just plain old cruise control? thanks

Last edited by dommm; 11-16-2013 at 07:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-16-2013, 07:37 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,634
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by dommm View Post
I drive a 2008 750i (not F10 so sorry for being in the wrong forum) & have active cruise control. I do not like the ACC & am wondering if there is a way through coding to change the ACC into just plain old cruise control? thanks
It should be possible by changing VO from S541A Active cruise control to S540A Cruise control and coding car.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 03-17-2014 at 08:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #29  
Old 11-17-2013, 06:36 AM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It should be possible by chnaging VO from S541A Active cruise control to S540A Cruise control and coding car.
Is this a possible DIY job or are we talking big bucks? I am assuming the VO is a software thing? I do have INPA & I believe NCSExpert program loaded on my laptop but other then pulling codes using INPA I have no experience.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-17-2013, 07:25 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,634
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by dommm View Post
Is this a possible DIY job or are we talking big bucks? I am assuming the VO is a software thing? I do have INPA & I believe NCSExpert program loaded on my laptop but other then pulling codes using INPA I have no experience.
No. This is a simple DIY with NCS Expert.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 11-17-2013 at 07:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:05 PM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
It should be possible by chnaging VO from S541A Active cruise control to S540A Cruise control and coding car.
OK, so I found this instructional link on how to change my VO. It looks like it is a reasonably simple process.

http://www.trevorloken.com/bmw/NCS_C..._Order_CAS.pdf

My next question is once I have changed my VO could you lead me in the right direction on as you put it "coding car" so I can have regular cruise control? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:18 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,634
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Read this:

NCS Expertmode coding DIY.pdf
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:26 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No need to uncheck fsw-psw-manipulation. By using empty fsw_psw.man-file sg_codieren-function codes module by VO. Handy accessory programs like ncs dummy or bmw coding tool will empty the file automatically.

Last edited by ap90500; 03-17-2014 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:28 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dommm View Post
I drive a 2008 750i (not F10 so sorry for being in the wrong forum) & have active cruise control. I do not like the ACC & am wondering if there is a way through coding to change the ACC into just plain old cruise control? thanks
Try to keep distance up or down button depressed for a few seconds. At least on F1x this activates CC with braking function.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:34 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,634
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
I am not an Exx coder, and I don't pretend to understand NCS Expert, but I know a lot of experts, and for what it's worth, they all say using a Blank .MAN file is not the "proper" way to VO Code, and that Expert Profile => SG_CODIEREN job is.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-17-2014, 08:47 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I am not an Exx coder, and I don't pretend to understand NCS Expert, but I know a lot of experts, and for what it's worth, they all say using a Blank .MAN file is not the "proper" way to VO Code, and that Expert Profile => SG_CODIEREN job is.
Could be true. I am not an expert but I have coded a few (just a few) e-series cars and so far empty .man and unchecking manipulation has produced the same result. I also know few guys who have coded maybe hundred cars during last few years and they use empty .man-file.

Last edited by ap90500; 03-17-2014 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-17-2014, 10:15 PM
Tuesday Tuesday is offline
.
Location: .
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 285
Mein Auto: .
.

Last edited by Tuesday; 03-20-2014 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-19-2014, 02:04 PM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
Try to keep distance up or down button depressed for a few seconds. At least on F1x this activates CC with braking function.
I gave your tip a try but no luck. As soon as I push & hold the stoke either up or down the ACC automatically turns off. Thanks anyway, it was worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-23-2014, 11:52 AM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Hi shawnsheridan

First let me thank you for giving me your time & help.

I am getting close to taking a run at this job but before I start I want to make sure I understand all the instructions of the .pdf you have given me in the link you provided, so I have a few questions for you.

I loaded NCS-Exerertentool - Kein - Profil geladen. I then clicked File > Load Profil > Expertmode > OK.

When I did that the F1 & F2 & F3 options were enabled. Because I have Expertmode profile can I assume that I can ignore the rest of the instructions on page one of the .pdf you gave me?

My second question is which option from the list of options on page 2 of the .pdf should I click?

PS: I have not yet attached the OBD cable to the car yet. Just doing a practice run.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-23-2014, 11:55 AM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,634
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Sorry, but I can't help you. I don't do an Exx coding as I own an F10, and NCS Expert is foreign to me.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 03-23-2014, 12:11 PM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
The manipulation should be off when using expert mode but I would still check it, it ain't that complicated thing to do.

That manual is not so good. Information in it is indeed correct but it just guides to press different function buttons without even telling their names. Google "dummies guide to basic coding with ncs expert" and you will find a nice manual that explains thing. Read it and you won't be here tomorrow asking about f'ed up car.

Remember to backup your FA before doing anything else.

Last edited by ap90500; 03-23-2014 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-23-2014, 01:39 PM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Sorry, but I can't help you. I don't do an Exx coding as I own an F10, and NCS Expert is foreign to me.
OK, thanks for your time anyway!!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-23-2014, 01:46 PM
dommm dommm is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 545
Mein Auto: 2011 550ix
Quote:
Originally Posted by ap90500 View Post
The manipulation should be off when using expert mode but I would still check it, it ain't that complicated thing to do.

That manual is not so good. Information in it is indeed correct but it just guides to press different function buttons without even telling their names. Google "dummies guide to basic coding with ncs expert" and you will find a nice manual that explains thing. Read it and you won't be here tomorrow asking about f'ed up car.

Remember to backup your FA before doing anything else.
Hi ap90500

What do you mean when saying "The manipulation should be off when using expert mode"?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-24-2014, 01:49 AM
ap90500's Avatar
ap90500 ap90500 is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Finland
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,086
Mein Auto: F30 320d xDrive -14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dommm View Post
Hi ap90500

What do you mean when saying "The manipulation should be off when using expert mode"?
Thanks
I meant that if you are using original unmodified expertmode profile, "fsw-/psw-manipulate with fsw_psw.man" is not selected in that profile. This means that coding will be done according to the FA, not by injecting fsw_psw.man into the module. All this and more is explained in the "dummies guide", you should really read it. At least I found it very usefull when I started coding E-series.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:36 PM
laser21 laser21 is offline
Registered User
Location: Slovakia
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 550i F10
Sorry to bring up an old thread.
Is there any news on this?

Did anyone successfully retrofit ACC to their F10?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 09-09-2015, 01:49 AM
mcrussell mcrussell is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 459
Mein Auto: F10 520d M Sport 11/2012
Still trying, I'm going to fit the radar next week & try it with my existing ICM & DSC although I'm not confident it will work without the correct ones, I have the buttons also.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09-10-2015, 09:39 AM
laser21 laser21 is offline
Registered User
Location: Slovakia
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 34
Mein Auto: 550i F10
please share your experience! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09-15-2015, 04:11 AM
1aBimmer's Avatar
1aBimmer 1aBimmer is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Sweden
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 226
Mein Auto: 530d
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrussell View Post
Still trying, I'm going to fit the radar next week & try it with my existing ICM & DSC although I'm not confident it will work without the correct ones, I have the buttons also.

Any news?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09-15-2015, 01:37 PM
SergAA SergAA is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: Russia
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 115
Mein Auto: 535d 2013
For ACC I'm not sure that different ICM/DSC is needed.
The easiest way to check it - add ACC (5DF) to FA, and calculate in programming mode in esys, what will be required.
If HW will be highlighted for ICM or DSC - then yes, replacement is needed. If only software change - you are lucky.
Then you will need to install radar and wire it properly, then code whole car and change buttons on steering wheel.

KAFAS is not needed for ACC with stop and go. It is required for FCW, but stil requires fsc code (which cannot be ordered, afaik) and so cannot be retrofitted.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 09-15-2015, 03:47 PM
mcrussell mcrussell is offline
Officially Welcomed to the 'Fest
Location: UK
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 459
Mein Auto: F10 520d M Sport 11/2012
It does show different part no.s in ETK for both DSC & ICM, that's why I thought they were needed, I'm going to fit the radar & try it anyway, I have the buttons, is FSC required on KAFAS 1 for FCW or is it like SLI & just requires coding?
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > The Best of Bimmerfest! > BMW Coding and Programming
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.