i3 coding - Page 11 - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums



Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > BMW i > BMW i3 I01 (2014 - Current)

BMW i3 I01 (2014 - Current)
The BMW i3 and BMW i8 are the first two cars launch under BMW's new sub brand BMW i. The i3 is an all carbon fiber, all electric vehicle meant for urban mobility.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #251  
Old 07-21-2017, 08:56 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeniceEight View Post
When you say:

"You only need to VO code."

Can you clarify that? Do mean add 6NS?

What am I missing?
You stated the following:

Quote:
Originally Posted by VeniceEight View Post
ALSO
Make all of these Aktiv except Single_or_Multilink. Make that Multilink.
You only need to add 6NS to FA and VO code HU_NBT. The only FDL coding you need to do is switch microphone back to one.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #252  
Old 08-03-2017, 04:02 PM
d451d d451d is offline
Registered User
Location: Louisville, Colorado
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: i3
I just got my I3 back from the dealer. I had a check engine light and mold in the AC system. They must have updated my ECU since all my codes have been cleared when I got it back. I tried recoding using the E-sys , E-sys Launcher and PSzDLite Data that I used previously but the only CAFD that didn't throw an error was the HU_NBT. I was wondering if I could get the links to the latest and greatest E-sys software and PSzDLite Data files.

Thanks in Advance!

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 08-03-2017, 04:08 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,410
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by d451d View Post
I just got my I3 back from the dealer. I had a check engine light and mold in the AC system. They must have updated my ECU since all my codes have been cleared when I got it back. I tried recoding using the E-sys , E-sys Launcher and PSzDLite Data that I used previously but the only CAFD that didn't throw an error was the HU_NBT. I was wondering if I could get the links to the latest and greatest E-sys software and PSzDLite Data files.

Thanks in Advance!

Dave
PM sent.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #254  
Old 08-03-2017, 05:16 PM
d451d d451d is offline
Registered User
Location: Louisville, Colorado
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: i3
Thanks Shawn,

I installed all the E-sys and PSdZData and I'm still getting the following errors and info while trying to read coding data. A couple work but most still fail. I attached a pic of what I am getting. Could the PSdZData be too new?

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	634793  
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 08-03-2017, 05:18 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,410
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by d451d View Post
Thanks Shawn,

I installed all the E-sys and PSdZData and I'm still getting the following errors and info while trying to read coding data. A couple work but most still fail. I attached a pic of what I am getting. Could the PSdZData be too new?

Dave
Doesn't Map to an Item means either Incorrect E-Sys Launcher Car Series Selected or Incorrect E-Sys Connection Target Selected.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 08-03-2017, 05:53 PM
d451d d451d is offline
Registered User
Location: Louisville, Colorado
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: i3
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Doesn't Map to an Item means either Incorrect E-Sys Launcher Car Series Selected or Incorrect E-Sys Connection Target Selected.
Oh damn. I did use the wrong connection target. Question is if I made changes to items under the HU_CBT cafd under the F001 target, will they match up to the same items under the I001 target? Or should I reverse my mistake by loading the F001 and undoing those changes first?

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 08-03-2017, 06:08 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,410
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by d451d View Post
Oh damn. I did use the wrong connection target. Question is if I made changes to items under the HU_CBT cafd under the F001 target, will they match up to the same items under the I001 target? Or should I reverse my mistake by loading the F001 and undoing those changes first?

Dave
The changes you already made are fine. Those ECU's mapped properly as they were common to both chassis.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 08-03-2017, 06:14 PM
d451d d451d is offline
Registered User
Location: Louisville, Colorado
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mein Auto: i3
Sounds good. I was worried that I might've caused a bit of mischief for my wife. She just took the car out to get some dinner.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 08-16-2017, 06:21 AM
heresy_fnord heresy_fnord is offline
Registered User
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Mein Auto: 2015 BMW i3
If the i3 truly has a 9 liter gas tank (2.37 gallons), why does the esys cheat sheet tell you to set the tank to _8 liter? I'm referring to the word doc sheet that is included in the "cheat sheet" folder with all the other cheat sheets.

Quote:
3005. ***61664; TNK_LITER_REHCTS set to: mcv_rex_liter_kl_rechts
3005. ***61664; TNK_OHM_REHCTS set to: mcv_rex_ohm_kl_rechts
3005. ***61664; TNK_VOLL_ANZEIG set to: _8 liter size
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 08-16-2017, 06:29 AM
God-Follower's Avatar
God-Follower God-Follower is offline
Achtung! Hochspannung!
Location: Pacific Northwest
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,289
Mein Auto: 2018 i3, F10 535d
Quote:
Originally Posted by heresy_fnord View Post
If the i3 truly has a 9 liter gas tank (2.37 gallons), why does the esys cheat sheet tell you to set the tank to _8 liter? I'm referring to the word doc sheet that is included in the "cheat sheet" folder with all the other cheat sheets.
There is no option for 9L, only 7L and 8L(and then up to over 20L).

I assume it is because the last liter or so of gas in the tank is unusable due to pickup screen limitations.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Bimmerfest mobile app
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 08-16-2017, 07:33 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by heresy_fnord View Post
If the i3 truly has a 9 liter gas tank (2.37 gallons), why does the esys cheat sheet tell you to set the tank to _8 liter? I'm referring to the word doc sheet that is included in the "cheat sheet" folder with all the other cheat sheets.
It depends on year of car as to the tank size and whether coding is necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 08-30-2017, 11:49 AM
jpeterferrell jpeterferrell is offline
Registered User
Location: Poquoson, VA
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: 2014 BMW i3
Hey Shawn, just picked up a CPO 2014 i3 and my coding cable - can you send me the most recent links to the E-Sys and PSDZData software. Does the current version run fine on the latest Windows 10? I plan to do the coding with my Surface tablet and an Ethernet to CAT5 adapter, hooked up to my coding cable of course...
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 08-30-2017, 12:00 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,410
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeterferrell View Post
Hey Shawn, just picked up a CPO 2014 i3 and my coding cable - can you send me the most recent links to the E-Sys and PSDZData software. Does the current version run fine on the latest Windows 10? I plan to do the coding with my Surface tablet and an Ethernet to CAT5 adapter, hooked up to my coding cable of course...
Win 10 is fine. PM sent.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 08-30-2017, 03:04 PM
heresy_fnord heresy_fnord is offline
Registered User
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Mein Auto: 2015 BMW i3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeterferrell View Post
Hey Shawn, just picked up a CPO 2014 i3 and my coding cable - can you send me the most recent links to the E-Sys and PSDZData software. Does the current version run fine on the latest Windows 10? I plan to do the coding with my Surface tablet and an Ethernet to CAT5 adapter, hooked up to my coding cable of course...
I'm not answering for Shawn, but I have the same hardware you're describing; I had no issue on my surface pro 3 with Windows 10 (creators update) using the USB to ethernet adapter.

Hope that helps for anyone else wondering.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 09-14-2017, 08:53 AM
ekranoplan ekranoplan is offline
Registered User
Location: olde country
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: i3
Any ideas if battery swap involves coding? Some German owners of 60Ah have upgraded to 94Ah but only through dealers. There are a lot of salvage i3s about. Seeing as only 5% of LiOn batts ar fully recycled (vrs >90% of Pbacid ones) makes sense to keep an older BEV or Rex going with newer battery - dealer option means the 60Ah goes back to BMW but DIYer could use it in the house.
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:05 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekranoplan View Post
Any ideas if battery swap involves coding? Some German owners of 60Ah have upgraded to 94Ah but only through dealers. There are a lot of salvage i3s about. Seeing as only 5% of LiOn batts ar fully recycled (vrs >90% of Pbacid ones) makes sense to keep an older BEV or Rex going with newer battery - dealer option means the 60Ah goes back to BMW but DIYer could use it in the house.
Battery swaps always require registering to ensure proper calibration. If you change size, then coding is also needed.
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:23 AM
heresy_fnord heresy_fnord is offline
Registered User
Location: Tennessee
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Mein Auto: 2015 BMW i3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Battery swaps always require registering to ensure proper calibration. If you change size, then coding is also needed.
The last time I checked this too, in America at least, the REX i3s were going to be excluded, at least initially. I had thought the battery swap program was years away?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Bimmerfest mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:56 AM
ekranoplan ekranoplan is offline
Registered User
Location: olde country
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: i3
Yes REx models didn't appear to be included in dealer swap.

It makes sense for BEVs in winter climates where range can go down quite a bit, especially if no heat pump fitted.

Any idea what might be needed coding wise? Disconnect HV power, remove plug and Air Con connection then the main unit drops out pretty easily (beware 250kg bulky item!).

Heat pump cars have different AirCon valve at battery pack.

Physical changes look simple enough - SOC/Max Kappa might show quite differently ?


Any recommends for sotware and diagnostics hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:57 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekranoplan View Post
Any recommends for sotware and diagnostics hardware?
E-sys, ENET, and ISTA+.
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:11 AM
ekranoplan ekranoplan is offline
Registered User
Location: olde country
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: i3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
E-sys, ENET, and ISTA+.
Many thanks.

Any recommended suppliers?

Are there chapters to look at on ISTA to perform calibration / balancing?
Reply With Quote
  #271  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:14 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekranoplan View Post
Many thanks.

Any recommended suppliers?

Are there chapters to look at on ISTA to perform calibration / balancing?
You can get ENET almost anywhere (eg, Ebay, Amazon), but recommend someone with good seller rating.

For E-sys and ISTA+, you can get over in Coding/Programming Subform. There is getting started guide there as well and ISTA+ is especially very user friendly.
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:36 AM
ekranoplan ekranoplan is offline
Registered User
Location: olde country
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Mein Auto: i3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You can get ENET almost anywhere (eg, Ebay, Amazon), but recommend someone with good seller rating.

For E-sys and ISTA+, you can get over in Coding/Programming Subform. There is getting started guide there as well and ISTA+ is especially very user friendly.
Many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 09-14-2017, 11:49 AM
Almaretto's Avatar
Almaretto Almaretto is offline
Super Moderator
Location: Mountain View, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7,022
Mein Auto: Test Vehicles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekranoplan View Post
Many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:44 PM
Uberschmutzer Uberschmutzer is offline
Registered User
Location: California
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Mein Auto: 2014 BMW i3 Rex
I just had my 2014 i3 rex updated to the latest software and so I need to recode. Could I please get the links to the latest and greatest E-sys software and PSzDLite Data files that will work for this latest update? Thanks--
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 09-23-2017, 06:16 PM
shawnsheridan's Avatar
shawnsheridan shawnsheridan is offline
bimmerfest Supporting Member
Location: Houston, TX
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 36,410
Mein Auto: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberschmutzer View Post
I just had my 2014 i3 rex updated to the latest software and so I need to recode. Could I please get the links to the latest and greatest E-sys software and PSzDLite Data files that will work for this latest update? Thanks--
PM sent.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

See More Related BMW Stories


Forum Navigation
Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > BMW i > BMW i3 I01 (2014 - Current)
Today's Posts Search
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2001- VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.