Newbie E39 DIY to test, select, buy, and replace front struts & rear shocks - Bimmerfest - BMW Forums

Go Back   Bimmerfest - BMW Forums > BMW Model Discussions > 5 Series > E39 (1997 - 2003)

E39 (1997 - 2003)
The BMW 5-Series (E39 chassis) was introduced in the United States as a 1997 model year car and lasted until the 2004 when the E60 chassis was released. The United States saw several variations including the 525i, 528i, 530i and 540i. -- View the E39 Wiki

Old 09-19-2009, 10:40 PM
Seek to understand,^Value

Mein Auto: 02 BMW 525i M54 auto 130K
Newbie E39 DIY to test, select, buy, and replace front struts & rear shocks

What does a total newbie to suspensions need to know to diagnose, select, purchase, and install new shocks on an E39?

I ask because I was told my shocks are bad because I have violent ABS shudder upon low-speed braking apparently caused by ABS interacting with bad shocks which otherwise seem just fine.

I will try to do some research on these threads first (like I did with the ABS test procedure) so that I can pose some intelligent questions in this new shock R&R thread for newbies like me to follow in the future.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-19-2009, 10:41 PM

I had no idea my shocks were bad.

My symptoms are simple:
a) Violent shudder when ABS is activated on low-speed bumps (
b) 75,000 miles on the original Sachs 2002 525i non-sport suspension (which otherwise seems fine for me so far)
c) That's it (I do realize the Beisan Systems DIY lists other common symptoms)

What I would need (or anyone in this situation) would be to know:

1. How to definitively TEST for bad shocks & struts (aka dampers) on an E39:
- Front-wheel violent ABS shudder (this in and of itself is a definitive test, but only for the front wheels I think)
- Three-bounce test (this might not be definitive)
- Wallow while driving test (also might not be definitive)
- Leak test (this, like the ABS shudder test, is definitive)