BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1800 miles on '05 ZHP. This is what has changed...

1155 Views 8 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  marvelphx
1. After retraining my brain for 1800 miles (about 2 months) I can finally shift smoothly 1-2, and 2-3rd. Have not mod. the CDV but I did add a 10M bolt to stop the clutch pedal from going to the floor (that helped a lot but still it took some more getting used to the timing of gas vs clutch release). BTW, I've been driving stick for 25 yrs....

2. The ride has smoothed out a bit. Perhaps the shocks/springs/tire walls have settled and softened up just a tad, which is a welcomed change.

3. The cold engine rough idle problem is a bit more pronounce. Either wait 1 minute warming up the engine or keep revs around 2k while driving out the first 1/2 mile.

4. The brakes feel more catchy
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
don't wait

get rid of the freakin' CDV!! Reward your 25 years of driving skill with a manual. I would think your patience would have run out by now. I did it at 800 miles and thanks to roadfly for the heads up on this. :rolleyes:

The car is barely broken in. one more thing.... keep that oil clean and let her really warm up before gettin' on it.
once you are through this, rev hard with joy! :thumbup:
I've got just over 2000 miles on my 05 ZHP here are my observations.