BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm fairly new to older BMW's so I apologize in advance for my ignorance! I just purchased this car from a close family friend who's had it since new. He took fairly good care of the car, but I'll be tinkering with it for several years I'm sure! First and foremost I've had to tear into the roof since the electric sunroof wasn't closing all the way. After narrowing the problem down (almost) to the lifting roof transmission I am still confused as to how the whole thing works. I guess I'll see after I install the new transmission if it works!

I'd like to take out both front seats for cleaning and some minor repairs to the seats themselves...how on earth can I get to the rear bolts for removal? :dunno:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks man. Seems as though my height adjustments aren't working and of course they're both at the lowest setting. I'll have to figure out how to get them to work in order to get at the rear 2 bolts and finish taking out the seat brackets.

·
Registered
84 Posts
lol. so its a manual seat adjustements i guess, since its an old model and of course unless the previous owner hasnt upgrade the seats with the electronic option! it will be a lot easier if you spRAY some 4wd and get off the seat. with weight on the seat its harder to adjust ! hope it helps .

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Okay here we go...not great pics, but I'm working on it! The dry one is when I picked the car up in Ketchikan, AK and the snow pics are from when I picked it up in Whittier, AK after she traveled up on the ferry. We're both happy and warm in Anchorage, AK now:)

Attachments

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Sunroof Repair