BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all :). I happen to live in rural Missouri, just down the road from a renowned BMW engine rebuild shop. They deal in lots of BMWs and have one for sale that I'm interested in but I thought maybe the good folks here could help me assess whether or not this is a good deal. Keep in mind, I have no knowledge really of BMWs (other than the endless research I've done lately)...

Here's what I know: 1985 535i, 155xxx miles. It's red and shows no rust other than quite a few bubbles on the sun roof. This however, will be replaced. I basically bought the car for $1100 with an extra $200 thrown in for parts and labor and another $200 for tires and wheels. I've spent the last week trying to get the car inspected so its road ready but before that could happen I had to replace the turn signal switch, a few fuses, the sway bar, diff. mounts, tires (as mentioned), had an oil change, and replaced the front windshield. The body looks great --no dings or rust other than what I mentioned. Leather interior is nice as well. As far as I know the only remaining issue is that the starter needs replacing (that's being done right now) and I'll possibly need a new radio -- it's calling for it's code but the one from the dealership isn't cutting it. I happen to know the fellows at this shop and they've offered to include pretty much unlimited parts from their various parts cars (most of the replacements I mentioned came off said parts car) and free labor but their turnover time when working on vehicles is ridiculous...takes forever.