BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
T Hutch
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased a 1988 525e that has travelled around 340,000 kms.
Car is in very good condition - Runs well when warm - But is hard to start, rough idles until warm and will cut out.
I have read through the many threads and am trying to come to grips with all the various abbreviations.
I am a mechanical engineer and was brought up on a wheat and sheep farm - i have a bit of an idea about cars.
The mechanic disconnected what i think was the cold start valve to see if it made an difference.
It did not - I had a similar problem with the first 525e that we had.
Any thoughts as to where I should begin?

·
Registered
278 Posts
Hi ya. Check your temp sending unit. Not the one that sends to the gauge, but the one that sends signal to ECU. I have had the values the sending unit was giving so far off, the car acted like you describe.

·
Bimmerfest Founder
15,712 Posts
Welcome to Bimmerfest! I've moved your question to our 5 Series forum, you'll get more help in here.

Tim

·
catso
3,160 Posts
Just purchased a 1988 525e that has travelled around 340,000 kms.
Car is in very good condition - Runs well when warm - But is hard to start, rough idles until warm and will cut out.
I have read through the many threads and am trying to come to grips with all the various abbreviations.
I am a mechanical engineer and was brought up on a wheat and sheep farm - i have a bit of an idea about cars.
The mechanic disconnected what i think was the cold start valve to see if it made an difference.
It did not - I had a similar problem with the first 525e that we had.
Any thoughts as to where I should begin?