Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone I have benefited countless times from the Bimmerfest fourms and now I feel like I finally have something to offer.

Recently my 93 ignition tumbler failed, most likely the shaft connecting the tumbler to the switch snapped and I was unable to release the tumbler with the bobby pin trick using the detent in the tumbler. I didn't have the dough or the time to tear the column apart so I figured "why not just rewire this sucker to a push button?" So I did.

In this thread I will step through exactly what I did to convert the stock ignition to a simple dual toggle/momentary button keyless ignition.

I figured I would post my intentions here since I'm a rookie member and make sure this is going in the right place before I get started. Hopefully this thread will benefit other Bimmerfest users!

·
D'oh, You Kids!
29,249 Posts
Interesting! But you'll still need to get the column apart to remove the steering lock. It may not be locked now, but you risk it locking at any time. It's a wreck looking for a place to happen with the lock mechanism still in there.

Welcome to the fest!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I drilled out the column to remove the spring on the steering wheel lock. Another handy trick that I'm pretty sure I picked up here. I actually did this job a couple weeks ago but I haven't had time to make the thread. Now that I am I can't find my damn wiring diagram! No big deal though I need to remove the shroud to snap a couple photos anyway.

I was able to get this done by following the examples of others but I had to piece it together so I wanted to just do a comprehensive step through of how I got it done.

Okay so this is sort of a wiring diagram(I used a multimeter to figure out the switch but I lost the original so i may need to retrace a couple wires and repost):