BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone im new to bimmerfest and i have a question. ive been looking to buy my gf's neighbors '96 328is and i understand the "s" means sport. but i havent been able to figure out how its actually different from just a 328i. when i tried researching it, all i could find was that it had more m3 features. my buddy tells me that the 328is has a better suspension but i was wondering if anybody else cold tell me anything else that it may include to make it different from just the 328i. thanks

·
BMW FETISH!!!
5,405 Posts
suspention, diff, sway bars, interior stuff like sports seats yada yada :)

·
Don't ask me, I'm a sofa.
1,203 Posts
haha whats that. and is that all?
It lets you put two black lines on the road, instead of one.
In a nutshell, better traction, particularly while cornering.

Also, in 328i vs 328iS, I think the 328iS might be missing two doors.

·
Resident Pilot
1,778 Posts
It depends on the 'is'
My 'is' sure as hell doesn't have the LSD.

...and yes, the 'is' in America, at least, are all coupes - 2 door.

·
what does this button do?
869 Posts
"is" just means coupe ... it doesn't have to have a sport package.

·
BMW FETISH!!!
5,405 Posts
It lets you put two black lines on the road, instead of one.
In a nutshell, better traction, particularly while cornering.

Also, in 328i vs 328iS, I think the 328iS might be missing two doors.
also lets the ass end dance. Sideways for anyone who doesnt know what im talking about :thumbup: or for the very technical people, Oversteer

·
Smoke tires, not drugs
537 Posts
yea...i have a 1996 328is with every option that was available (including sports package) and i KNOW i don't have an LSD in it....

·
Registered
330 Posts
yea...i have a 1996 328is with every option that was available (including sports package) and i KNOW i don't have an LSD in it....