BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
the radio and display on the screen just cut out completely. Also noticed the blinkers do not blink at dash any longer, I am sure I am missing something else that is also not working. Replaced the 30 amp fuse already. That did not help. any suggestions?

·
Certifiable BMW Whackjob!
5,834 Posts
Perhaps a little more info can get you a response. There were many different radio/nav setups throughout the E38's run amd each setup has it's own issues so...

OEM, upgraded or aftermarket?
Have NAV? If so, what version?
Have DSP?
Cassette or CD? 6 disc in the trunk?
Cut out completely and hasn't come back on since? MID is totally blank?

sent from the future using the bimmerfest app embedded in my neural implant

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you for your response. I am a novice to this and literally just bought the car and within one week this happened.

OEM, has Navigation system yes, not sure on version, whatever was original to the 1998 750il
6 cd changer in the back, same compartment for navigation cd
DSP
AMFM stereo cassette with 16 speakers
Integrated cell phone

We were enjoying the nice sounds when it suddenly got quiet, screen went black. Since trying new fuses and normal battery reset, the screen has some light to it but just a streak and it varies

·
Registered
336 Posts
Welcome to the world of E38, strange magic that it is!
Check this link: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/...onal-info/body/audio-video-navigation/mssntp3

It should be close to your '98, depending on build date. The navigation unit serves as a modem for the I-bus, as all amp and DSP/radio functions
are impacted by it. The screen in the dash is merely a monitor/display.
The early navigation units tended to suffer from electrical issues (low batteries, jump starts, disconnecting batteries, etc.)
This link will allow you to identify you series, 1,2,3, or 4.