BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
540i - 2000 vs 2001

Newbie here-Sorry if this has been covered, I did a quick search.

I am currently looking at two beautiful 540is. I basically just got my first decent job since I graduated college and am going to reward myself a bit. I'm upgrading from a 1998 Cadillac STS (family deal). It had decent power but a wishy-washy ride. It was actually a very dependable car back and forth from school (250 mile round trip) no problems after me putting a rough 50,000 on it, sitting at 85,000 now... However I'm 25, and an STS isn't me, maybe in another 30 years...

To the real questions:

I am looking at these cars, the 2000 is Orient Blue on black with 43,000 miles for $24,500. It has the sport package but an automatic tranny w/steptronic. The 2001 is silver on black with 58,000 miles for $26,900. It has the sport package as well WITH the 6 spd.

Aesthetically speaking, both are perfect and both are 1 owner trades to the same Cadillac dealership. I plan to have whichever one I choose inspected of course. I guess what I'm asking is is there a reason to spend the extra $$$ on the 2001 with more miles or should I stick with what seems like the smart decision from my perspective, the 2000. Maybe there are some defects or historical problems I haven't read about with one vs the other.

There was one other question I have. Both have the "sport package", both have the M badge, three spoke steering wheel. The 2000 has the double spoke wheels while the 2001 has the 15 spoke. The problem I have is some I see on Autotrader.com with the sport package have the M style front spoiler, while both that I'm looking at have the "regular" one. I'm just worried I'm going to get ripped off. I don't know if there are two different types of sport packages you can get or what. Maybe one a more aesthetic package, and the other with the suspension?