BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about upgrading the wheels on my 2002 330xi. Currently, the tire size all around are 205/50-17 inch and the rim style is the picture that is attached. (Do these wheels come in a larger size? – I have not seem it or know where to get them if they did – I like this style)

I like the wider tire and thinking of getting the 18-inch sport wheels, but get a good all season tire. Perhaps the 225-40R18 all around would look good.

I am new to upgrading tires and rims, and I think there is more to just replacing the current ones – like re-calibration etc…

Thoughts appreciated on options I might have for my XI and where to get them, and where to have the upgrade done if I decide to get it done..

Thanks

Mike

Attachments

·
Registered
4,122 Posts
fullcombat said:
I am thinking about upgrading the wheels on my 2002 330xi. Currently, the tire size all around are 205/50-17 inch and the rim style is the picture that is attached. (Do these wheels come in a larger size? - I have not seem it or know where to get them if they did - I like this style)

I like the wider tire and thinking of getting the 18-inch sport wheels, but get a good all season tire. Perhaps the 225-40R18 all around would look good.

I am new to upgrading tires and rims, and I think there is more to just replacing the current ones - like re-calibration etc…

Thoughts appreciated on options I might have for my XI and where to get them, and where to have the upgrade done if I decide to get it done..

Thanks

Mike
Your xi will accomodate any E46 BMW wheel (except the M3), so you have an incredible number of choices of OE or aftermarket wheels. Your present wheel, though, only comes in one size. You could fit a high-performance all-season tire in 225/45R-17 for a modest upgrade as an alternative to 18s.