BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Oh boy, have I gotten myself into something.

I'm new to working on cars, and I got lucky enough to know someone who has a lot of cars to flip, which are just lying around. This one is mine if I can fix it.

Anyways, its a BMW 2008 328xi. Which is the sports wagon.

Previous owner got a new battery before I got ahold of it, as he thought it was the issue.

Now I'm trying to diagnose what in the hell is wrong with this car, I've done my fair share of research on this particular model, and bmw's in general now.

The symptoms: no crank, CAS clicking repeatedly when start button pressed, lots of fun lights on the dash (Abs, low tire pressure, caution sign with an arrow around it, service engine soon), LCD lights up with nice fun symbols too (red caution sign, red service sign with car on lift, sometimes it shows a battery, wiper fluid light, box with waves in it?? not sure what that is, and there used to be a transmission malfunction image before the trans computer was reset).

What I do know: Starter works, and engages when shorted, battery is relatively new, I see lots of people having problems with their new batteries which makes me think that there is a reason that its not working as intended (not sure if the battery is really good or not, I need a good charger to make sure), no detonation device on vcc battery terminal, all accessories in the car power on when start is pressed, key fob is recognized, junction has power. Previous owner said that they parked, came back and car wouldn't shift or start. The car had to be overridden manually in order to get it into neutral.

Suspicions: Alternator draining battery while sleeping, faulty fuse draining in sleep, CAS not powering starter properly, Computer hasn't been coded for battery, bad connection

Need help!

·
Registered
3/2007 328xi E91
4,129 Posts