BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen,

Looking for a little help with a car purchase. I'm looking at a 08 535xi with an auto at a local dealership owned by a friend of mine. The VIN is WBAPT73588CX02077. It has 72k miles.

I've read the pdf and poked around the forums a bit, so I know most of the obvious things I should be looking for. My wife owned a R53 MINI for 10 years, so I have some experience poking around body control modules and other BMW things. I already own a Bavaria Technic scanner.

Is there anything specific I should be looking at with the scanner besides diagnostic codes? I've seen a few posts about electric water pump flow, etc. Like I said, the dealer is a friend of mine and I know where the car has been, but there's not a lot of information on servicing, so I know I'm in for a chunk of change when I bring the car home. I'm not looking for boring and slow, I'm looking for a luxury performance family car, so I'm willing to do the preventative maintenance that it needs.

I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade and I've been in the jeep/offroad hobby for a long time, so most of the maintenance will be DIY. Just trying to learn from you guys about specific things I should be looking for before I pull the trigger.

Thanks
Josh

·
Registered
2006 530xi 6 MT
4,364 Posts
That car will be a great car to drive. And, you already know what may or may not be in store and you can do most of it yourself and even if you can't, you know were to go. I think that year has two turbos.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Nice, a wagon as well. The car is really fun to drive and just a general look around to determine if anyone messed with it. I would take the engine cover off to see how it looks underneath there, any oil stains/spills. Also the valve cover and oil filter housing areas to see if any oil is present.