BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm John and I've been driving a 07 Ford escape for two years now. It is reliable and cheap to care for but I feel ready for a newer car.
Im currently shopping between mercedes and BMW. I like both companies but I'm in love with the BMW handling. The mercedes in my opinion has terrible handling.
I don't mind open 1 or 2 thousand dollars 2 or 3 times a year on repairs.
I understand an oil change will run me up to $200 and I'm fine with that.
I'm currently looking at the 08 year x5 with a 3.0 engine. The mileage on them ranges from 99k to 110k and a few less then that.
My budget is 20k and i need to have a high car that's good in snow because I live in mountainous area.
I don't want a honda or nissan. I'm dead set on either a mercedes GLK or a BMW x5.

Would i be making a big mistake buying a 2008 x5?
What do you guys think?

Thank you

·
Resident Curmudgeon
26,385 Posts
Hi John

Can I say it seems odd to have a $20k budget but to not mind "1 or 2 thousand dollars 2 or 3 times a year on repairs". Or $200 for an oil change.

Anyhoo ..... (you dont need to spend that on oil changes either)

There are A LOT of threads around these issues..*****ing an earlier 07 or 08 X5; that 100k mark; etc. Do your homework. Get a PPI. Try to find someone that cared for their car. I start getting concerned with tranny at that mileage. Most cars will never have had an ATF fluid change.

Finally from an 07 to an 08 doesnt seem like a big step in the "newer car" continuum. How about a 2010 or 11?

Actually there is a spotless 2011 with 82k and will be about 24k give or take. it is a desirable diesel.

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=869147&highlight=fleetman

You could go into a used car lot and buy a mystery 2008, 2009 car, or hook up with a one owner cared for 2011. As I think about this, you are prolly 100 miles away, this would be a sweet deal.

·