BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to cars overall so i know nothing to how much everything cost. So i went to an auto service today to get a brake inspection.
They told Ima have to replace rotor caliper and brake pad and the sensors front and rear and it would cost $1600. Is that reasonable?
Front is around 900 rear is about 700
Parts and labour included

·
UsernameATF
20 Posts
You are getting ripped! Go online and find which brake pads and calipers are needed and order them yourself (always go oem) my opinion and find a reputable Indy shop it should run about 400$ at most to replace all 4 and the price of parts are up to you.
ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1470687132.657597.jpg

·
Car guy since 1968
1,478 Posts
I replaced my front rotors and pads with kits from Bavauto for $176 + $25 shipping. Rear pads/rotors are similar in cost.

You can too.

If you need a caliper, NAPA Online lists them for the 2009 328i for about $85 each.

What do YOU think is the smart way to spend your money??

I'll bet your quote is from a dealer. Go to an indy shop that knows BMWs and you should cut that estimate in half or better.

Learn to DIY and you can do it for under $300, but you'll have to bleed the brakes after you replace the caliper. That's OK, you're probably due for a brake fluid change anyway.

·
Registered
2,007 Posts
I replaced my front rotors and pads with kits from Bavauto for $176 + $25 shipping. Rear pads/rotors are similar in cost.

You can too.

If you need a caliper, NAPA Online lists them for the 2009 328i for about $85 each.

What do YOU think is the smart way to spend your money??

I'll bet your quote is from a dealer. Go to an indy shop that knows BMWs and you should cut that estimate in half or better.

Learn to DIY and you can do it for under $300, but you'll have to bleed the brakes after you replace the caliper. That's OK, you're probably due for a brake fluid change anyway.