BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks. We've been benz owners for years, and I'm looking at a used bmw now.

I noticed alot of noise about the engine and oil consumption issues. I'm a decent home mechanic and I do most of the work on our benz.

If a 2012 750i xdrive already had an engine replacement 40k miles ago, should I still be concerned? Or is that a fairly safe purchase? The car has just over 100K miles now.

Thank you for your thoughts!

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Was it replaced with a new engine or a used engine?
I would have to assume New.. It was replaced at a BMW dealership.

I noticed some older forums of members getting their engines replaced at the dealer while it was under warranty or CPO warranty. Looks like that was the case for the car I'm considering.

·
Registered
2013 750i and 2015 740i
2,045 Posts
Speaking from experience here...avoid it if the engine has been replaced. It's a complicated procedure with a lot of detailed steps that can really give you problems if the work quality wasn't top notch. After two months in the shop and about a dozen visits later, I still have some minor mechanical annoyances that are unlikely to ever get fixed.

Not to mention that it's also a higher mileage N63 car with xDrive. I would recommend looking at a 2013+ 740i or 2014+ 750i instead.

·
Registered
338 Posts
I have been looking at both a 750Li and a Mercedes S63 AMG. What I have found is the S63 has issues as well. The difference is that some of them have very few issues whereas some have lots and lots of issues. I guess it is the luck of the draw on what you get. There is a S63 AMG for sale here locally and judging by the carfax it spent more time at the shop than it did in the owners garage.

·
former motorcycle rider
766 Posts