BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 148 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
3 series caught fire (update from BMW 05/20/05)

Hi, I am new to the Bimmerfest site, but I stummbled upon it search the web for some info on my BMW. I was woundering if anyone has heard of 3series spontaniously catching fire while driving down the road. My lady and I were driving in Houston May 1st when smoke started to come out of the air ducts.Then the guages started to go up and down, as soon as I saw that I pulled over and started to get my valuables out. Within 9-13 min the car was fully envolved with fire. I was in awe standing there watching my 2004 BMW as it wnt up in smoke. The next day BMW of houston north, my local dealer, went and picked it up from the tow yard and took it to the dealership. They said a team is coming down and it is under investigation. I was wondering if anyone had any advice, comments or just to say "sorry to hear that". I do have pictures and I will post them as soon as I get them down loaded from my camera.

Heath

Here are some updated pics of my burned BMW. The picture shows the engine compartment, the driver and passanger compartments and the right side of the car. The front tires and shock tower came out of its original resting positionand when the wrecker picked up the front of the car and sat it down with the shocks out of their holders. The shocks on the hood that holds the hood up blew the drivers side corner of the hood up. The entire interior is burned and has glass littered all over from when the windows blew out one at a time after they were heated up enough. The pictures show the car after the tow truck dropped it off at the tow yard. It was so sad sitting there helpless watching my car burn up will waiting for the fire dept. I hope nothing like this happens to any other BMW owner. I will keep you posted about what BMW says.

Heath

Attachments

·
Bimmerfest Founder
15,473 Posts
Lash2578 said: