BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

318is 1997 Headbolts question

2335 Views 25 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  wildhorsejkm
I'm installing headbolts on my 318is engine. The manual states "Do not install washers on any bolts which are fitted to locations where there are already captive washers in the cylinder head.

How do I know if they are captive washers or not?

thanks for your help!
Joel
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
The head is aluminum. The washers are steel. Take a magnet small enough to fit down the bolt holes and see if it sticks to something in the bottom of the hole. That'll be a captive washer. Note which holes have captive washers are don't put any on the bolts that go in those spots.

Did that make sense to you? Hope so....
What is the purpuse of the magnet sticking in cerntain holes? I'm a high school teacher working with my students on this car and they are going to ask me the same question.

Do you know how many holes will be captive washers in head 10 bolts?

We'll go and do that test right now!!

Also I don't have an angle torgue gage. It starts 70 ft/pd then two more 90 degrees. Since I don't have a angle torque gauge is there a final torque spec?

Thanks for all your help.

Joel
The head is aluminum. The washers are steel. Take a magnet small enough to fit down the bolt holes and see if it sticks to something in the bottom of the hole. That'll be a captive washer. Note which holes have captive washers are don't put any on the bolts that go in those spots.

I got to thinking about this, while I'm searching for a small magnet, but the head is aluminum, but the block is cast iron. Wouldn't a magnet stick to all the holes?

No, it will only stick in the holes that have the steel washers still in place. The block is far enough away from the bottom of the head bolt holes that it won't be a factor in the magnetic attraction. The best tool for this is one of the "magnet on a stick" pick-up tools.