BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all
i am a bit new to the scene and and after some basic advice. i have just sold my "vw" vr6 because the chance arose to buy my friends 318is, as the cars a 1998 and covered only 39000 miles, (mint condition) had loads of extras put on from new and the car was going for a song i could not say no.
i love the car its handling and pure of pleasure driving it are by far the best i have had from any previous car....but the performance (re power) are a little flat after the previous cars i have owned.
Can any one offer me any advice regarding engine upgrades, ie super chips .exhaust filters etc that will squeeze some more out of the car, i would appriciate any advice on manufactures and performance companys that i can use or talk to.
i live in the uk (yorkshire) so if any one can recommend "owt" local that would also be great
thanks
Egg:thumbup:

·
Registered
144 Posts
Yeah I got one too. Like me, you bought the wrong bimmer, shoulda got a 325. as far as i know there isnt much intake, exaust even thought your mass air flow sensor/regulator wont really allow the extra air. i havent done much resurch but check out the computer chips they may help. i really feel your pain i had a 13 sec honda but i love my beamer . if you do find something that helps please let me know

·
Registered
127 Posts
I know what I'm going to say is not going to make much sense; an although the car is in a mint condition with an ultra-low mileage, modifying a 1.8L engine is not worth the money at all, no matter how much you put into it, it'll always be underpowered.

If I was talking to someone who has a car with 3-times your mileage, the first thing I'd recommend is an engine swap. However, in your particular case, I'd say you have to live with it. Enjoy the car, don't race it.

You have a very rare car, take good care of it and enjoy it.

All the best!

·
Registered
144 Posts