BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you might recall, I am new to these E46s - our 330CiC is sitting at the dock soon to board a ship bound for NY - - -
-
Curious to know if the twin outlet muffler is a true dual - that is, two pipes in and two pipes out, or is it one pipe in and two pipes out, i.e., simply a styling thing?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Excuse me for being dense, but are you implying that indeed there are two pipes coming into a split chamber muffler, and that each chamber exits via its own tailpipe? Each pipe/header, is taking exhaust gases from 3 cylindars? Not trying to ba a smart ass, just curious.
-
On the SC, with the flat six, each header handles 3 cylindars - and normally feeds into one pipe, then into the cat, and then into a single muffler inlet and outlet. Some of us, however :D, bypass the cat, and run separate headers directly into the two-in/two-out muffler, or a two-in/one out muffler (less noise).

·
Coyote Racing Team
628 Posts
Two separate outlet pipes....but

they share a resonator and muffler.