BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Bimmerfest and a new owner of a used 2002 330i (bought "as is.") About four weeks ago while driving on the freeway with the A/C running, I heard a popping sound and then the A/C died. After that, the climate control unit wouldn't work. After searching this forum, I found the fuse box and replaced fuse #28, which was blown. It ran for about five seconds and then the fuse blew again. After quickly burning through a few fuses, I discovered that I can get the climate control unit to work as long as the A/C is not on. The instant I turn on the A/C, the fuse blows.

I need suggestions on how to tackle this problem as a DIY project. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Banned
310 Posts
Steve Bean said:
I'm new to Bimmerfest and a new owner of a used 2002 330i (bought "as is.") About four weeks ago while driving on the freeway with the A/C running, I heard a popping sound and then the A/C died. After that, the climate control unit wouldn't work. After searching this forum, I found the fuse box and replaced fuse #28, which was blown. It ran for about five seconds and then the fuse blew again. After quickly burning through a few fuses, I discovered that I can get the climate control unit to work as long as the A/C is not on. The instant I turn on the A/C, the fuse blows.

I need suggestions on how to tackle this problem as a DIY project. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
You may have a bad AC/Heater Control unit causing an internal short.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
By "AC/Heater Control unit" do you mean the IHKA control unit? I think that's the unit behind the climate control panel.

·
Banned
310 Posts
Steve Bean said:
By "AC/Heater Control unit" do you mean the IHKA control unit? I think that's the unit behind the climate control panel.
Yes the IHKA Control Unit/Module.