BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm very new to BMW's and am interested in the 335i. I am aware that it has stock bi turbos that do not run sequentially. I've previously owned a 94' twin turbo supra with BPU++. i'm also not a mechanic so have no idea as to how compression/turbo boost works.

so my questions are, will getting a boost controller really throw off the car's stock computer, if not how high will you guys think it will be able to boost with a 10.2:1 compression ratio, and will it be possible to upgrade the turbos to a larger single turbo or larger twin turbos?i think stock boost was somewhere like 8.something psi. oh, also i was curious as to whether or not the stock transmission would be strong enough to handle the increased horsepower. i don't want to buy a 335i and blow it up lol.

I've looked at the picture of the engine on the BMW site and it's on the bottom so modification would be ridiculously hard. though, looking at that manifold reminds me of how large the supra's stock one was.

I'm also curious as to what types of exhaust you would buy for a luxury sports vehicle such as a BMW. i'm only familiar with companies such as HKS, Greddy etc. i'm just trying to plan and budget how much modding this car will cost me when i get one. Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,
-zrvs

·
BMW Fahrer
4,674 Posts
Dude, nobody knows the answers to your questions, mainly because that car hasn't even been released for sale yet. I think, if I'm not mistaken, that customer deliveries start in September...

So if you plan on buying a 335 and modifying it, I would suggest you wait another year or so. By that time BPU upgrades should be available and you might get answers to all your questions.

Do NOT buy this car now expecting to get 500RWHP out of it - it may or may not be possible... :dunno:

adc
03 330 ZHP

·
Registered
228 Posts