BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a relatively new owner of a 325i BMW. I've decided that I'm going to begin to upgrade my car's audio. I have about $600 to play with. I'm looking at 2 subs, an amp, and front speakers. I'm not dead set on a certain brand. Any infomation or advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
13,798 Posts
I would do head unit and amp first. Nakamichi single disk head unit is what I'd recommend - great sound and it looks perfect in the E36.

·
Banned
708 Posts
Hi, congrats on the car, let me make a couple of recommendations.

I'm not an expert on the E36 codes, but I think that your car is a sedan?

You have a 5.25 midwoofer in the kick panel, and a small mid and a smaller tweeter in the door panel.

This architecture is hard to retain. There are a few speaker makers with three-way systems - Dyne, Morel, DLS, Hertz - but none of them are cheap.

If you go with a two-way midwoofer/tweeter system, in your car it's very important to use a tweeter that plays low into the mid and can be turned lower in output relative to the midwoofer. The OEM system uses a different amp channel for the midwoofer than for the mid and tweeter and the midwoofer is driven harder to compensate. You probably won't have that luxury, you will probably use the same amp channel for the midwoofer and the tweeter, so make sure you can go -3dB or more.

You've told us your budget. While I think an aftermarket HU can help, in your situation on that budget I'd follow your plan, changing the OEM HU last, if at all.

Will this be self installed or pro installed?

·
Registered
13,798 Posts
I had the same car, and the reason I suggest head unit is the stock unit doesn't even have a CD player. So unless you're playing tapes or listening to the radio, you'll need a head unit. $600 seems too shallow to put in decent speakers, amp and SW too, but you could get a decent head unit + amp maybe for $600.

·
Banned
708 Posts