Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I was recently in an auto accident and it totaled my last vehicle. I am strongly considering the purchase of a BMW X5. I'd like to stick with under 10k$, which for my area, at the moment, Means perhaps up to a 2010. Of course the usual things play a role, Miles, condition.

What I would like to avoid is someone else's problem.

Might I ask some suggestions to year, engine size? etc? I am a total rookie here, and I hope you all will treat me with gentle hands :)

I have been looking at 2007-2010. But I have heard/read mixed reviews on the engine sizes. V6 Vs. V8.

Thank you for your help!

·
Nuclear engineer
02/2012 X5 35d M57Y CPO 99K miles NOKIAN WR G3 12K miles
17,463 Posts
There is nothing more expensive than a cheap BMW.

My experience is with I6 Diesel engine only, but I am glad that I did not stumble into a V8.

Whatever you decide, have a Pre-Purchase Inspection done by a trusted and experienced, BMW experienced if possible, independent mechanic. It should cost $100 or so. If the seller bulls up for any reason, walk away. There is something that the seller does not want found. Do not trust salesmen.

·
Fool on the Hill
229 Posts
Avoid the V8. A gasoline six cylinder will avoid the potential pollution control issues inherent in modern diesels.

And by the way, BMW six cylinder engines are in line sixes, not a V6.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Unless you have a sizable repair/maintenance budget, At your price point I’d buy a Honda or Toyota. They go forever.

Sent from my iPhone using Bimmerfest

·
Registered
817 Posts
It is like buying an old house. You need to spend more money on updating it. There is no way you can buy an X5 for $10k and keep running it without expensive updating of wear and tear items. You have budget another $10k to make it road worthy.

·
Registered
3,261 Posts