Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon. Kind of a newbie here. Just got an Avin 8.8" Andriod v7.1 Multimedia Navigation System for the wife's 2010 BMW 528i E60. Thought I would post a review. Hopefully, this is in the correct spot.

Here is what I got from Avin…

8.8" Andriod v7.1 Multimedia Navigation System with anti-glare screen protectors:
https://avinusa.com/8-8-bmw-5-series-6-series-e60-e61-e63-e64-android-multimedia-navigation-system.html
https://avinusa.com/8-8-anti-glare-touch-screen-protector-3-pack-for-bmw-e90-e60-e65-f25-f26-e91-e92-e93-e61-e62-e63-e64-e66-e67-e68.html
Right after I purchased this, the v8.1 came out. I could not get a solid answer from Avin as to what are the advantages (start up time, etc.) of the v8.1 versus the v7.1 besides the obvious of running on a 6 core CPU vs. a 4 core. I stayed with the v7.1 figuring it had been out for a while and would be more stable/bug free. I wish that were the case. Please read on...

Dashcam Front Recording DVR Camera:
https://avinusa.com/bmw-dashcam-front-recording-dvr-camera-for-e70-e71-e60-e61-e83-e65-f10-f11-f07-model-dvr6035.html

Trunk Release Backup Camera with 2.4GHz wireless transmitter/receiver:
https://avinusa.com/bmw-trunk-release-backup-reverse-camera-for-x5-x6-x3-x1-e82-e84-e88-e90-e91-e92-e93-e60-e70-e71-model-bmw-thcam1.html
https://avinusa.com/24ghz-wireless-backup-reverse-camera-video-transmitter.html
Figured it was worth getting the wireless instead of running a video cable from the trunk to the screen.

Apple CarPlay USB adapter:
https://avinusa.com/apple-carplay-android-auto-usb-adapter.html
The wife has everything on her iPhone. Apple CarPlay was one of the main reasons on got this unit. So far, its been a disappointment. Please read on...

OBDII Wifi module:
https://avinusa.com/torque-compatible-wifi-obd2.html

TPMS Monitoring System with internal sensors:
https://avinusa.com/tpms-tire-pressure-monitoring-system-usb.html