BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to working on cars, but have had some success with our 2011 X5 50i and am loving it! We're throwing some codes right now and the engine is running at reduced power. These are the codes:

P054D cold start b camshaft position timing over-retarded bank 2
P0025 b camshaft position - timing over-retarded bank 2
P05CF cold start b camshaft position timing performance bank 2

Any idea what these could mean or how to diagnose? I'm seeing online that it could be the camshaft sensor, crankshaft sensor, or solenoid valve. Are any of these more likely? Could it be anything else? Are these difficult repairs?

Thanks for your help,
Will

·
Nuclear engineer
02/2012 X5 35d M57Y CPO 116K miles NOKIAN WR G3 30K miles
22,033 Posts

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
Oil pressure issue to the vanos can cause such a problem but usually the problem is resolved with cam position sensor replacement.

I did have a client who's n52 motor had similar errors, it was suggested the vanos solenoid were at fault. It turned out to be a broken cage inside the oil filter cap.

It can be low oil, dirty filter or the wrong oil viscosity.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
26,187 Posts
Oil pressure issue to the vanos can cause such a problem but usually the problem is resolved with cam position sensor replacement.

I did have a client who's n52 motor had similar errors, it was suggested the vanos solenoid were at fault. It turned out to be a broken cage inside the oil filter cap.

It can be low oil, dirty filter or the wrong oil viscosity.
Agreed.

On the S62 we saw similar. Fouled/sluggish vanos solenoids…or bad Camshaft Position Sensor.

On the s62 there are 4 cps. Bank 1 and 2, anm intake and exhaust

One question for OP…any work done to the motor or these just popped up?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here are the hexadecimal codes: