BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
UR MOTHER IS AN ASTRONAUT
1,007 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Which air and oil filters do you guys recommend for use? Would K & N be a recommendation?

·
1,007 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
anyone?

·
Premium Member
14,837 Posts
Bmw Oem.

·
1,007 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I mean in general for say an 06 civic. I usually use k & n, but was wondering if there was something better. The bimmer is coming in Oct via ED

·
davesnothear
31 Posts
I have yet to see a better oil filter than a K&N. Just the ability to easily safety wire a K&N for racing says a bunch about the people that designed it.

·
Registered
735 Posts
As an aircraft tech I would have to disagree, If you Google for real data on K&N you will see they are not held in high regard. All that extra air ( which goes unused without further mods) comes at the expense of poor air filtration.

Bobistheoilguy.com for all you ever wanted to know, not opinions, just facts backed up with reports analysis reports, tear downs, micron ratings.

That said, you can save a bunch and just get a Napa Gold or even a STP. Today I took out my old STP and put in a new BMW OEM. You would be hard pressed to see a difference, in fact the STP fit better and sealed better, at six bucks I know what my next filter will be.

Not trying to thread crap, honestly K&N is HIGHLY over rated and every independent review will back that up.

·
davesnothear
31 Posts
As an A&P myself and a racer for 30 years I think I know my stuff. Next time I want to keep my oil filter from spinning off due to vibration maybe I'll call Falcon guy for a STP sticker to hold in on. :rofl:

·
Registered
735 Posts
STP doesnt make an oil filter for the E46, maybe you didnt read my post but I did mention the filter I was talking about was an AIR filter.

Thanks for the contribution, great way to make friends, on post 11 no less.....

Bet you work Nights? Airline?

Yea it all adds up

·
Registered
124 Posts