BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
MLC (Mid-Life-Crisis)
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading here for a couple of weeks now on coding my new F33.

As a former IT consultant, I feel very strongly about backing up the vehicles current (OEM) configurations before I do ANYTHING to it.

As such, what is the best (or as some say: "preferred") way to back up all of the current settings so I have them available if I screw something up?

If there is a specific thread that answers this already (I probably missed it), please point me in that direction.

·
Premium Member
41,949 Posts
ECU data backups are worthless. Simply VO Coding an ECU will reset it to factory coding.

·
Registered
198 Posts
I'll defer to Shawn on all matters relating to coding, but doing a full set of backups before starting at least made me feel more ok about proceeding.

This thread has detailed instructions on doing an initial backup: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631884

I also 'read' and then 'saved' (that is, saved to my hard-drive) the FA file and the SVT file before changing anything.

·
Premium Member
41,949 Posts
Well, lets say you want to return ECU to factory Coding.

Which method is easier?

VO Code:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on ECU => Select CODE.

Restore .NCD:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click ECU CAFD File => Select New FDL => Navigate to C:\ESysData\CAF and select matching .NCD file => Left-Click on Inserted CAFD => Select FDL Code.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Well, lets say you want to return ECU to factory Coding.

Which method is easier?

VO Code:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on ECU => Select CODE.

Restore .NCD: