BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2000 m roadster.I have to mash the clutch pedal down into the carpet to shift into 1st or reverse gear.I am a novice attempting to bleed the clutch. I had my son push down on the clutch pedal while I opened the bleeder valve on the slave cylinder...Now every time I want the clutch pedal to come up I have to pull it up with my hand!What did I do? How can I try to fix it before I call a tow truck? thanks, Arnoldo

· Registered
6 Posts
You did not bleed the clutch correctly. The best way to bleed the clutch is replace the stock bleeder valve with a speed bleeder valve (one-way check valve). Instead of having someone step on the clutch pedal, borrow a vacuum pump and suck the fluid out from the bleeder valve. Good luck.

· Registered
218 Posts
Master cylinder bleeding is a science. Some say to keep it simple and let gravity do the work. The BMW mechanics reverse bleed. The put fluid pressure at the slave and push to the master. I have a SnapOn pressure bleeder which mounts on the master and seals it while providing fluid pressure to all lines. then pop open the furthest wheel first and work to the nearest slave. The clutch might be different because the master is so tiny compared to the brake master. But all this could be irrelevant due to the fact most clutch masters are not bleedable and once gear engagement is a problem it is time to replace the slave. I am not familiar with the BMW setup.

· Registered
39 Posts