BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a young professional and am looking to lease a car...which would you get? A 12,000 mile per year lease, 3 year timeframe would probably work. I know, I know, this is a BMW forum, and this is a beaten topic, but here goes...we're comparing 2011 bmw 335i coupe vs 2011 lexus is 350...the latest vs the latest:

BRAND PRESTIGE: BMW holds the upper hand here but Lexus is no slouch. No one is going to make fun of you if you have a Lexus.

INTERIOR: Hands down, this one goes to the Lexus. I've sat in both, and Lexus gives you a plush interior. Moreover, the Lexus is very quiet, you feel like you're isolated from the road, but you still here the desired engine grunt. In the 2 times I've ridden as passenger in a BMW 3 series, it also seems quiet, but for some reason the boring orange gauges and very stark/spartan/simple? dials don't seem to wow people on first sight as much as the flashy Lexus gauges, dials, bells, and whistles.

SPEED: BMW's website says 5.5 seconds for the 335i coupe automatic and Lexus's website says 5.6 seconds. Call it even. 0.1 seconds to 60 is not going to be a deal breaker for me.

EXTERIOR: BMW's coupe is probably one of the hottest cars under 60K right now in terms of appearance. Lexus looks fairly sharp as well especially with the new daylight running lights, but I'd have to give the slight edge to the BMW.

PRICE: Fully loaded, the BMW is a cool 10 grand more than the Lexus. Leasing, I think it'll be about a hundred bucks more a month for the Bimmer.

RELIABILITY: From what I hear and read, Lexus is significantly more reliable than the BMW, with less parts breaking down. I'm worried about the HPFP, but from what I hear, N55 is at least a little more reliable.