BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I'd like to say hello to everyone on the forum. I'm new here, and I am very interested in getting an e60 550i something around 06-08 probably, newer if I find a good deal. In any case I'm a college student, and I was wondering how reliable these cars are, especially once they start reaching 100k miles 120k. The cars I'm looking at are around 90k, I will jump on less mileage if I get the chance, but will there be major issues? If so how much would I need to set aside for repairs in the even of a problem. They are beautiful cars, but of course I would like to be prepared for any extra costs to the car. Please let me know. Thanks :)

·
Registered
2009 BMW 550i
515 Posts
In all honesty, as a college student, there are probably many other more suitable and affordable cars for you to consider. Keep in mind that the purchase price might only be a small component of the overall ownership experience. Please read the sticky "So You Just Bought an E60" at the top of the page for some ideas on what you might be expected to pay for some of the common maintenance and repair items. If you are somewhat skilled mechanically, the ownership experience could be considerably lighter on your wallet. If you plan to use a BMW dealer for maintenance and repair, I assume your parents are doing a superb job at supporting you during your college career. If not, at the very least, find a trustworthy independent BMW service shop and save quite a bit.

Some of the "normal" repairs on higher mileage 550i's include replacing the coolant transfer tube and replacing valve guide seals. Both of these, even at an "indy", can be eye-wateringly expensive. They are terrific cars....I absolutely love mine....but in the back of my mind is a constant worry that an unexpected big-ticket repair might be lurking around the corner.

·
Registered
614 Posts