BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

First at all I would like to thanks to everyone who takes the time to read my post, It has come to my knowledge that this is a common problem with the E60 but this is all new to me. I'm an auto technician with a little less than 10 years in experience (mostly on Mercedes, VW's and Audis) but honestly, this is the first time I got my hands on a BMW

I was helping a friend with his 2004 E60 with engine M54. The car's battery have been bad for the last 6 months. The problem got so bad that the owner was used to jump start the car every morning, battery wouldn't hold charge for a night. I looked at the car (knowing nothing about it) and noticed that the IAC and some other actuators would never stop making noises even with the car completely locked for hours. The "P" light was always on as well. I dug a little bit on this and other forums and I suggested a new IBS and battery. It was really difficult to find the battery (I live in a very economically and commercially unstable south american country). We got the new battery this weekend but the owner was in a hurry and installed itself, then he called me to "finish" the install. What he didn't tell me is that he tried to install the battery with no success. It turns out the car will start but I have absolutely no electric, no cluster, no idrive, no exterior lights, no seat adjustment, no A/C, none of the doors will open even from the inside (just the drivers door inserting the key). The car sometimes start and sometimes don't start (sometimes the I can hear the starter's teeth hitting the flywheel when the engine has already started, like when you turn the key for too long and the flywheel spins faster than the starter. Hooked up my scan tool, which is not very good reading BMW's and I get this:

First, when connecting battery I get the "red car in the lift" warning light, then it goes away and that's it.