BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have a BMW m235i f22 (2014), and i want to control door locks, lights remotely with my computer. I am trying to access the OBD2 port using my Arduino/Spark-fun shield to read the CAN messages, but the only CAN ID i see is 0x130. The CAN ID doesn't change before or after ignition or drive. I am using 500 kbps CAN speed, and am getting the same CAN ID across 2-3 other CAN shields (seeduino, spark fun shield, car loop/particle photon). I have limited knowledge about what could have gone wrong here. Can some one help me out? Highly appreciated.

-Parin

·
Registered
193 Posts
0x130 is the "keep alive" message.

What software are you using? Have you configured it to read only specific message ID's? Some software have the option of picking only a few and discarding the rest.

You may want to send a message and see if you are able to read other messages as receipt.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Just checked, it does indeed send only 0x130 messages.

After sniffing messages over the OBD, found out that you need to send a 0x7df (PID) message to receive a 0x7e8 which contains data.

To know the list of supported PID's, please google.

When I sent the following data on [0x7DF]:
Code:
02 01 0D 00 00 00 00 00
1st byte: length=2 bytes
2nd & 3rd bytes: PID=010D (Vehicle Speed)
I received the following data on [0x7E8]:
Code:
03 41 0D 00 AA AA AA AA
1st byte: length=3 bytes
3rd byte: SPEED=0 kmph
It implies, to read data you need to send request. If you are looking for continous flow of messages, you will need to tap into one of the available CANBUS's inside the car, for instance, I've tapped into the entertainment bus and have been able to log messages for my other project which displays many parameters of the car on a uController controlled LCD.

EDIT: Adding a screenshot

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·