BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to BMW just got a 2004 Z4 3.0 Roadster. As much as I love this car for the looks and performance, the one thing I hate is the dashboard. I'm a pampered kid with driving all latest cars with fancy dashboards and loads of features (I travel a lot and I always rent these). I couldn't even pair my phone into my Z4 so far. I have steering controls, BMW assist and SOS.

I also see these after market systems are insanely costly for what they offer. Coming from Asia, I don't see as much value for those insane prices. Also, I do not want to spoil the looks of my car by replacing the original system. I want something to work alongside the original (something like Dice/Grom) but bringing all features that I want and easily upgradable with addons. I'm a Software programmer/consultant too, so I'm planning to build my own system. I came across this NanoPC (http://linuxgizmos.com/tiny-quad-core-mini-pc-ships-for-69/) which is basically an android computer that gives all that I want and I can just add more modules to extend the function if I wish to.

The above system is perfect, cheap and will satisfy all my needs if integrated into my car. My problem: I have no idea how I would do that. I'm a software guy and complete n00b in hardware or electronics. But I'm willing to learn and experiment with right direction.

I'm looking for the following functions:
  • USB Media Play
  • AUX connectivity
  • Bluetooth for calls and media streaming
  • SD card access
  • ADSL/4G modem + Wifi hotspot
  • Smartphone App input and control
  • Optional BT Keyboard
  • Backup camera integration
  • Any other sensor integration (like Blind spot sensor) that I might want to add later