Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
•••••••
16,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does the increased weight of the E39 result in more body roll? Or do the stock sways' increased size make up for it?

Just curious as to how body roll in a stock SP 330i, for example, would compare to a stock SP 540i, say. Having never driven the latter, I have no experience.

T

·
0 Posts
E39 SP center of gravity is lower than the E46 plus the E39 is wider. Stock E39 w/SP has LESS body roll than stock E46 w/SP. Rides firmer too. Really.

·
10,856 Posts
I remember reading somewhere that the 528i SP bested the E36 M3 in a C&D? test.

·
•••••••
16,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
TD said:
E39 SP center of gravity is lower than the E46 plus the E39 is wider. Stock E39 w/SP has LESS body roll than stock E46 w/SP. Rides firmer too. Really.
Hmmm... makes sense. CoG is definitely the biggest factor in this equation, I would imagine.

I wonder how a 330i w/ SwayBarbarians would compare.

·
Registered
6,869 Posts
Plaz said:

Hmmm... makes sense. CoG is definitely the biggest factor in this equation, I would imagine.

I wonder how a 330i w/ SwayBarbarians would compare.
That's not quite fair is it? Stock -vs- aftermarket sway equipped... Does UUC make bars for the E39?

·
•••••••
16,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
in_d_haus said:

That's not quite fair is it? Stock -vs- aftermarket sway equipped... Does UUC make bars for the E39?
Nope, not fair... but fair, schmair! :p

Just a pointless academic hypothetical anyway.

T

·
0 Posts
Plaz said:

Nope, not fair... but fair, schmair! :p

Just a pointless academic hypothetical anyway.
I had UUCs on my 330i SP. I highly recommend them. They virually eliminate body roll. Other than cost and having to occasionally lube them, there is no downside.

And I would say that a UUC equipped 330i SP would have significantly LESS body roll than a 528i SP.

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
TD said: