BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

boost build

1884 24
im new to the beemer group i just picked up a 86 325es i want to build a boosted 325 i have already started by gutting the inside and so far taking out the ac system and windsheild washer system my goal is to have nothing i dont need but i want to rebuild the motor or something its got 240,000 miles i cant find a rebuild kit anyone got any advice
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
I work at a parts store in Cincinnat, I know we can order all the parts individually. But thats getting it back to oem shape. Just depends what your trying to do.
when you swap to an "I" head, is there alot of other stuff you have to alter? i am assuming you need to update your ECU?
With the "e" models yes. I have a 2.7e and from what I've SEARCHed its the following: INTAKE WITH INJECTORS, 1.3 MOTRONIC ENGINE WIRE HARNESS( all engine ellectrical including DME), THERMOSTAT HOUSING(for the different electrical connections then in the 86e), VALVE COVER, SINGLE FUEL PUMP, HARMONIC BALANCER(for the crankshaft sensor), O2 SENSOR, OIL SENSOR.. Copied and pasted. I found a 3.5 liter out of a 91 535is, it came with engine, transmission, ecu, wiring harness, air box, and afm. I only paid 400 bucks for all that. Engine only had 150K on the ticker.

I only say this because I was going to do the same thing your doing. I weighed the pro's and con's and came to the conclusion that I would rather double my horsepower and torque with the bigger engine first. Next year I put the 65mm turbo kit and miller turbo tuning kit with a cam and mild port and polish to double my horespower again. I just think this is the most reliable way to make power on a budget. But to each their own.
yeah i need to know everything i have a 96 f250 i remote turboed but this is a little different i want to pull the engine this weekend and start taking it apart but that means i also need new parts which is where im stuck
now that you say that. that sounds more what im going for will it bolt in ?