BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

bra for bimmer

1353 Views 9 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  GoForthFast
does anyone have a bra on their car year round or during winter. what would you recomend? i live in maine. also are those clear plastic shields any good?
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
The traditional mask-type of vinyl bra has a nasty habit of eating the paint under where it`s mounted (vibration, friction, trapped dirt & moisture all figure in here). Something like ClearBra is a far better alternative. They do a good job of protecting vulnerable paintwork from rock chips, etc.
+1 stay away from the vinyl ones. Eats your paint like crazy from flapping over time.
I have been using a mask type bra for over 20 years and have never had paint damage. If you follow a few simple rules you will have no difficulty. Don't install it on a dirty car, remove it when it gets soaked, don't leave it on for weeks at a time, make sure it's adjusted properly. I use mine mainly for long highway trips and have never had problems and it's a lot cheaper. I think it looks much better than those expensive clear plastic overlays which always seem to have that dirty line at the seam. Just my opinion.
Vinyl cover damage on my 300zx.......

Attachments

My personal experience is that the vinyl bra like Crowz talks about rubs through the paint. However hhibmw calims success with only temporary use, and I suppose that is probably the best way to go if you choose to use one. As for myself, I don't/won't use either...and just put up with the chips and touch-up sequence.
thanks for input. possibly will go with the clear ones. i just want some protection in the winter.
I put on my own clear bra on the front bumper and leading part of the hood seven years ago. With mostly highway mileage where small rocks are being thrown up frequently, the bra is almost in as good condition as when I first put it on. And there are some small knicks in it where larger rocks have hit.