BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Rear brakes on my 2016 X3 been showing 3k miles left for year on my dash. Getting ready to replace rear pads. Will I need to replace rear brake pad Sensor? Has brake pad sensor already been triggered requiring sensor replacement?
Also does anybody have torque specifications for rotor bracket bolts and guide bolts? Will be replacing rotors also.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Don’t know about the 2016 models, in 2012, the sensors were “ballpark” at best. I was told to always replace the sensor with the brakes (but I’m not a BMW expert).

·
Registered
75 Posts
Rear brakes on my 2016 X3 been showing 3k miles left for year on my dash. Getting ready to replace rear pads. Will I need to replace rear brake pad Sensor? Has brake pad sensor already been triggered requiring sensor replacement?
Also does anybody have torque specifications for rotor bracket bolts and guide bolts? Will be replacing rotors also.
My understanding is the sensor progressively wears away. There are 2 stages of triggering, and once you get the dash warning it has triggered at least one stage and must be replaced. But even if you go early and it hasn't triggered, the sensor is physically much thinner due to wear and will not clip back into the far wider slot once you replace the very worn pads. BMW pads are very thick and if the new sensor clicks in firmly I'm fairly confident the old sensor would fall out immediately.

Also, they're like $8.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have not got a dash warning yet. If there are two stages on the 2016 X3 pad sensors, defiantly need to be replaced. I did get brake sensors in my brake kit. I have seen posts where if you do not get a dash warning, you can reuse pad sensors. Maybe older BMWs can reuse the pad sensors if a brake warning has not appeared on the dash.

·
Registered
75 Posts