BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Now with Nano
1,310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey gang,

Long time no post. Can someone point me to a brake replacement DIY. Finally wore out my oem brakes and need to replace them.

Thanks!

·
Now with Nano
1,310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey James,

Thanks for the expeditious reply. I forgot to check the Phanatics. ;) Great link. If I remember correctly, KromeX's car is the same year model and color as mine (and he even lives near by). Bonus points for that. I was actually looking for something with more detail, though, including rotor replacement. Thos also appear to be just the front brakes. Is there a DIY for the rears? How does one deal with the parking brake shoes if its even an issue? Being a former master mechanic, I can probably figure it all out but I want to scope out the job before ordering parts and diving in. My time is valuable these days. Thanks again!

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
31st330i said:
Thanks for the expeditious reply. I forgot to check the Phanatics. ;)
AFAIK the rear is exactly the same procedure as the front. The parking break shoes won't be a problem as I think they are inside the hub (I haven't actually done this DIY but I came VERY close before chickening out ;) ). When I had the wheels off everything was out in the open on all four corners.

I remember there being a DIY for the rotors, I'll see what I can dig up. The rotors are pretty much just remove and replace though. The only interesting thing would be torque figures.

·
Now with Nano
1,310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So is everyone replacing just the pads and no other hardware like springs or clips and the like?

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
31st330i said:
So is everyone replacing just the pads and no other hardware like springs or clips and the like?
When I was going to do mine I bought pads, discs, sensor wires and the little placer bolt for the disc. Those are the only pieces I considered to be "wear and tear".