Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

Sorry for what may be seen as a silly question but I had to ask since I am rather new to the BMW roadsters. What are the major differences between the Z3 and Z4? I only ask because I am thinking about purchasing one of them the for a weekend/spring/summer car and I kind of like both of them.

I like the size of the Z3, it looks quite a bit smaller, but I also like the more modern look of the Z4. Is one more reliable than the other? Are there some model years to avoid? My budget would be $20k max.

Thanks In Advance!

·
Registered
272 Posts
Good thing is that you will not need to get even close to your 20K budget unless you are looking for a M car. I know there have been some Z3 cars with sub frame isses that can cost some big bucks to fix but I would go for what look you like better.

·
The Arkleyologist
588 Posts
I have owned several Z3s and one Z4...bottom line...my wife and I took several 800+ mile trips in our Z4 in total comfort....this would not be the case with a Z3. On the other hand, you will probably be money ahead on maintenance/upkeep with the Z3. In my case, I have been driving British sports cars for over 55 years and in the last couple of years have sold all but one of them because of the lack of comfort and my inability now to maintain them. I now personally own a 1997 Z3 2.8, with hardtop, that is an amazing car with enough comfort and yet "tossable" on the twisties. Another thought, with the rediculously low prices of these used cars, you could own a fine example of each one of these cars for a total of less than $15k...food for thought!

·
Registered
341 Posts